Library Icon   John Henrik Clarke Africana Library Mud Cloth
Library Gateway | Library Catalog | Find: Articles Databases e-Journals | Ask a Librarian

Inside the Library

Collection

Databases

Subject Guides

Internet Resources

John Henrik Clarke

Contact

 

Literature By And About African Americans

Titles listed below can be found in the reference collection of Africana Library.
 
 
Afro-American Fiction, 1853-1976: A Guide to Information Sources. 1979.
Ref. Z 1229 .N39 M32
Bibliography of Afro- American fiction and critical bibliographies of some authors.
 
Afro-American Literature and Culture Since World War II: A Guide to Information Sources. 1979. Ref. Z 1229 .N39 P36
Selective post-World War II until 1970; annotated bibliography by subjects.
 
Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975: A Guide to Information Sources. 1979. Ref. Z 1229 .N39 A25
Comprehensive list of poetry, anthologies. Index, author section is useful as a checklist.
 
Bibliographical Guide to African-American Women Writers. 1993.
Ref. Z1229 .N39 J82
Writers are arranged in dictionary order with primary sources entered alphabetically by title followed by secondary sources entered by author.
 
Black American Women Novelists: An Annotated Bibliography. 1989.
Ref. Z 1361 .N39 W49
Offers biographies and commentaries.
 
Black American Women Poets and Dramatists. 1996. Ref. PS 153 .N5 B547 1996
Provides biographical, critical, and bibliographical information on the most significant black American women poets and dramatists.
 
Black Literature Criticism. 1992.Ref. PS 153 .N5 B617
Covers 125 writers representing the United States, Africa, and Jamaica. Each entry presents a historical survey of critical response to the author's works.
 
Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays: A Biographical Directory and Dramatic Index. 1988. Ref. PS 153 .N5 P48
700 contemporary dramatists, screenwriters, radio and TV scriptwriters, 1950-present. Attempts to be comprehensive.
 
Index to Black American Literary Anthologies. 1979. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 K14
Designed to aid students in locating black American literature published in collections.
 
Index to Black Poetry. 1974. Ref. Z 1231 .P7 C46+
Ninety-four books and pamphlets by individual poets are indexed as well as 33 anthologies.
 
Index to Poetry by Black American Women. 1986. Ref. Z 1229 .N39 C46 1986
Over 4,000 poems by 400 female poets are indexed; author, title, first line, subject approach.
 
Masterpieces of African-American Literature. 1992. Ref. PS 153 .N5 M264x 1992
Essays on 149 works of literature arranged alphabetically by title.
 
Masterplots II: African American Literature Series. 3 vols. 1994.
Ref. PS 153 .N5 M2645x 1994
Contains 266 essays examining major writings in all genres from poetry to
non-fiction, drama to novels.

 

 
Cornell Universtity  Library  
Home