Library Icon   John Henrik Clarke Africana Library Mud Cloth
Library Gateway | Library Catalog | Find: Articles Databases e-Journals | Ask a Librarian

Inside the Library

Collection

Databases

Subject Guides

Internet Resources

John Henrik Clarke

Contact

 

Music, Theatre, Film, Art

This is a selective list of available resources can be found in the reference section of Africana Library.

 

Africa: The Garland Encylopedia of World Music. 1988
Ref. ML 100 .G16x 1998 v.1

 

African Music: A Bibliographical Guide to the Traditional, Popular, Art, and Liturgical Musics of Sub-Saharan Africa. 1991
Ref. ML 120 .A35 G7x 1991

 

African Music: A Pan-African Annotated Bibliography. 1991.
ML 120 .A35 L4x 1991

 

Afro-American Artists: A Bio-bibliographical Directory. 1973.
Ref. N6538 .N5 C38
Covers 18th to 20th centuries and brings together data from exhibition catalogues, reviews, periodicals, books and questionnaires.


Afro-American Religious Music: A Bibliography and a Catalogue of Gospel Music
. 1979. Ref. ML 128 .S4 J13
Includes citations to music of established black churches in the United States, the Caribbean, South America, and West Africa.

American Black Women in the Arts and Social Sciences. 1994. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 W725 1994

Black Arts and Black Aesthetics. 2nd ed. 1981. Ref. Z 5956 .A47 F78 1981
Defines "Black Arts" to mean "the philosophy of art which can be inferred from works by black Americans." Arranges materials into 2 categories: Articles and essays, and monographs. Each category is further subdivided into culture theory, dance, drama, music, Negritude, plastic arts, and poetry and fiction.

Black Dance: An Annotated Bibliography. 1989. Ref. Z 7514 .D2 A19
Documents black dance in all its forms. Mainly includes printed material published in the Western Hemisphere.

Black Music Biography: An Annotated Bibliography. 1987.
Ref. ML 128 .B3 F64
A survey of the history of the music of black Americans and of race relations in the United States. A collection of "brief career vignettes." Selective discography listed after each entry.

Blacks in American Films and Television: An Encyclopedia. 1988. Ref. PN 1995.9 .N4 B672
A collection of synopses of important black-oriented films and television programs with credits for each production and critical commentary.

Blacks on Television: A Selectively Annotated Bibliography. 1985. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 H64
Covers 45 years of black involvement in television (1939-1984) and contains more than 2,800 entries.

Complete Annotated Resource Guide to Black American Art. 1978. Ref. N 6538 .N5 H75
Focuses on survey and historical sources related to black visual artists in the U.S.

Dictionary of the Black Theatre: Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Selected Harlem Theatre. 1983. Ref. PN 2270 .A35 W86
Part I documents more than 300 shows from 1898 to 1981. Part II includes biographical entries of major performers, writers, and directors and notes on major organizations that have encouraged the black theatre in New York City in the 20th century.

Directory of African American Religious Bodies: A Compendium. 2nd ed. 1995. Ref. BR 563 .N4 D57x 1995
Includes 5 essays on the African American religious experience and provides documentation of existing African American religious bodies, organizations, and agencies.

Directory of Blacks in the Performing Arts. 2nd ed. 1990. Ref. PN 1590 .B53 M29 1990
Contains information on approximately 1,100 black performing artists in film, television, radio, theatre, dance and musical performance.

Encyclopedia of African American Religions. 1993. Ref. BR 563 .N4 E56
Includes introductory essays, a chronology of African American religion, alphabetically arranged entries on churches, institutions, and people. Entries conclude with brief bibliographies.

Images of Blacks in American Culture: A Reference Guide to Information Sources. 1988. Ref. NX 652 .A37 I31
Explores images of Blacks as they have been presented in the study and development of American culture in 10 chapters. Suggested readings and bibliographies conclude each chapter.

 
Cornell Universtity  Library  
Home