General History, African American
African American Encyclopedia.
Williams, Michael W., ed. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1993. 6 vols.
Ref. E 185 .A255
This six volume set features entries on people, organizations, landmarks,
professions, entertainment, military activity, religion, family life,
politics, court cases, cultural movements, and other facets of life
that have unique expression among African Americans.
Black Firsts: 2000 Years of Extraordinary
Achievement. Smith, Jessie Carney, ed. Detroit: Gale Research,
1994. Ref. E 185 .B574w 1994
Nearly 3,000 instances of firsts ranging from science
to education to sports and entertainment are described.
Chronology of African-American
History. Hornsby, Alton. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991.
Ref. E 185 .C53x 1991
Contains biographical information, significant events,
legislation, court decisions, programs, manifestos, and data on social,
economic, political and educational milestones.
Black Saga: The African American
Experience. Christian, Charles Melvin. Boston: Houghton
Mifflin, 1995. Ref. E 185 .C519x 1995
Documents the African American experience in the
United States from colonial times to the present in brief entries arranged
in chronological order.
Black American Reference Book.
Smythe Mabel M., ed. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1976. Ref.
E 185 .D26. 1976
A comprehensive handbook
of essays on all aspects of black life in the U.S. Contains statistical
data, notes, and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. edited by Salzman, Jack, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West. New York: Macmillan Library Reference; Simon & Schuster Macmillan; London: Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1996. Ref. E 185 .E54 1996, 5 vols.
This is the most extensive effort to date to capture the detail and the sweep of African-American history and culture. Signed articles by prominent scholars provide thorough background information in all aspects of the African-American experience in the United Sates. Well-indexed.
Encyclopedia of Black America.
Low, W. Augustus, and Virgil A. Clift, eds. New York, N.Y.: Da Capo
Press, 1984. Ref. E 185 .E56
Brief articles and biographies of 1,400 Afro-Americans.
A one volume major encyclopedic history of black Americans.
African American Chronology.
Hornsby, Alton Jr. Detroit, Mich.: U X L, 1994.
Ref. E 185 .H62 1994, 2 volumes
These two volumes explores significant social, political, economic,
cultural, and educational milestones in black history. Arranged by year
and then by month and day, this work spans from 1492 to modern times
and contains more than 100 illustrations, extensive cross references,
and a cumulative subject index.
Milestones in 20th-Century African
American History. Hornsby, Alton Jr. Detroit:
Visible Ink Press, 1993. Ref. E 185 .H81 M6 1993
This book provides an illuminating chronicle of important facts and
events that highlight the total experiences of African American in the
United States during the 20th century.
- The Negro Almanac. New York,
N.Y.: Bellwether Pub. Co. 1989. Ref. E 185 .N39
Includes statistics, biographies, sociological data, chronological history; extremely helpful. - The Negro Handbook.
New York: Wendell Malliet and Co. 1942-1949. 4 vols. Microfiche 6,
nos. 184-187
An almanac of information about black Americans. Includes statistics, social issues (housing, crime, education, business, labor), sports, arts, religion, biographies.
The Negro Yearbook. Annual. 1912-1938. 9 vols. Microfiche 6, nos. 190-198
This is similar to the Negro Handbook, only it covers an earlier time period.
Statistical Record of Black America. 1st ed. 1990- . Ref. E 185.5 .S79
A compilation of statistical data on the African American population in the United States. It includes comparative data with other ethnic groups. Statistics are provided on history, demographics, the family, education, health and health care, and social and economic conditions. Chapters on domestic life, religion and attitudes/opinions are also included.
Black Women in America: An Historical
Encyclopedia. Hine, Darlene Clark. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Carlson
Pub., 1993. 2 vols. Ref. E 185.86 .B542x/1993
This encyclopedia consists of 804 entries, 641 of which are biographies
of individual Black women and 163 of which deal with general topics
and organizations.



