African American General and Specialized
Reference Books
Affirmative Action: An Encyclopedia. Beckman,
James A. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004. Ref. HF 5549.5 .A34
A426 2004
More than 500 A-Z entries--illustrated and cross-referenced--offer
current, accurate, and detailed information significantly related
to affirmative action, including coverage of concepts, court cases,
ethnic and social groups, events, government agencies, individuals,
issues, laws, and movements
- African American Encyclopedia.
Williams, Michael W., ed. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1993. 6 vols.
Ref. E 185 .A255
This six volume set features entries on people, organizations, landmarks,
professions, entertainment, military activity, religion, family life,
politics, court cases, cultural movements, and other facets of life
that have unique expression among African Americans.
- Black American Reference Book.
Smythe Mabel M., ed. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1976.
Ref. E 185 .D26. 1976
A comprehensive handbook of essays on all aspects of black life in
the U.S. Contains statistical data, notes, and bibliographies.
Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook.
Boulder, CO: Numbers & Concepts, 2003. Ref. E 185.5 .B615
Provides a single volume of statistical references:
most tables display information on both whites and blacks and totals
for Americans of all races. All from government sources.
-
- Black Authors: A Selected Annotated Bibliography.
Newby, James Edward. New York: Garland Pub., 1991.Ref. Z 1215 .N53
Similar to Monroe Work's Bibliography of the Negro in Africa
and America (1928), attempts to identify works written, co-authored,
or edited by black Americans. Includes over 3,200 titles in all subject
areas, fiction and nonfiction, spanning over 200 years (1773-1990).
- Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia.
Hine, Darlene Clark. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Carlson Pub., 1993. 2 vols. Ref.
E 185.86 .B542x/1993
This encyclopedia consists of 804 entries, 641 of which are biographies
of individual Black women and 163 of which deal with general topics
and organizations.
Encyclopedia of Black America. Low, W. Augustus,
and Virgil A. Clift, eds. New York, N.Y.: Da Capo Press, 1984. Ref.
E 185 .E56
Brief articles and biographies of 1,400 Afro-Americans. A one volume
major encyclopedic history of black Americans.
-
- My Soul Looks Back, 'Less I Forget: A Collection
of Quotations by People of Color. Riley, Dorothy Winbush,
ed. New York, NY: HarperPerennial, 1995. Ref. PN 6081.3 .M9w 1995
The Negro Almanac. New York,
N.Y.: Bellwether Pub. Co. 1989. Ref. E 185 .N39
Includes statistics, biographies, sociological data, chronological
history; extremely helpful.
The Negro Handbook. New York:
Wendell Malliet and Co. 1942-1949. 4 vols. Microfiche 6, nos. 184-187
An almanac of information about black Americans. Includes statistics,
social issues (housing, crime, education, business, labor), sports,
arts, religion, biographies.
The Negro Yearbook. Annual. 1912-1938.
9 vols. Microfiche 6, nos. 190-198
This is similar to the Negro Handbook, only it covers
an earlier time period.
Quotations in Black. 1981. Ref.
PN 6081.3 .Q9
Includes over 1,100 quotations from more than 200 men and women, along
with over 400 anonymous proverbs attributable to blacks.
Statistical Record of Black America.
1st ed. 1990- . Ref. E 185.5 .S79
Afro-American History; A Bibliography.
1974-1981. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 S64 v.1-2
Over 3,000 abstracts from America: History and Life since
1954; chronological arrangement.
Black Firsts: 2000 Years of Extraordinary
Achievement. 1994. Ref. E 185 .B574w 1994
Nearly 3,000 instances of firsts ranging from science
to education to sports and entertainment are described.
Black Saga: The African American Experience.
1995. Ref. E 185 .C519x 1995
Documents the African American experience in the United States from
colonial times to the present in brief entries arranged in chronological
order.
Chronology of African-American History.
1991. Ref. E 185 .C53x 1991
Contains biographical information, significant events,
legislation, court decisions, programs, manifestos, and data on social,
economic, political and educational milestones.
- Encyclopedia of African-American History
and Culture. 5 vols. 1996. Ref. E 185 .E54 1996
Historic Landmarks of Black America.
1991. Ref. E 185.53 .A1 C36x 1991
Historical sketches on more than 300 cites related to African American
history.
The Historical and Cultural Atlas of African
Americans. 1991. Ref. E 185 .A8x 1991
Historical Statistics of Black America.1995.
Ref. E 185 .H543x 1995 v.1-2
|