Library Icon   John Henrik Clarke Africana Library Mud Cloth
Library Gateway | Library Catalog | Find: Articles Databases e-Journals | Ask a Librarian

Inside the Library

Collection

Databases

Subject Guides

Internet Resources

John Henrik Clarke

Contact

 

General Bibliographies

Titles listed below can be found in the reference collection of Africana Library.

Africa | African American | Caribbean



Africa:

Africa and the African Diaspora: A Selected Working Bibliography. Hudson, J. Blaine.Louisville: Dept. of Pan-African Studies, University of Louisville, 1992. Ref. Z 3508 P35 H84x 1992
Includes selected bibliographies and book citations on Africa and the African diaspora.

Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 N53
Annual acquisitions of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Arranged alphabetically and includes subject headings, author and title entries.

Bibliographies for African Studies, 1970-1986. Ref. Z 3501 .A1 S32 1988
Lists over 2,770 bibliographies relating to Sub-Saharan Africa. Primarily for use in the humanities and social sciences.

Bibliographies for African Studies, 1987-1993. Ref. Z 3501 .A1 S32 1994
Lists an additional 834 bibliographies relating to Africa.

A Bibliography of the Negro in Africa and America. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 W92 1965
Chapters are classified; for students of history and the social sciences. All published before 1928



African American:

The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 L47x 1993

Afro-American Reference: An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Resources. Ref./Z/1361/N39/D27
Up-to-date general bibliography covering "full interdisciplinary subject range of reference-type materials." Few journal articles.

Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 N53
Annual acquisitions of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Arranged alphabetically and includes subject headings, author and title entries.

A Bibliography of the Negro in Africa and America. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 W92+ 1965
Chapters are classified; for students of history and the social sciences. All published before 1928.

Black Access: A Bibliography of Afro-American Bibliographies. Ref. Z 1361 .N39 N551
Helps "locate information on virtually every aspect of Afro-American life, culture, and history." Includes many separately published bibliographies.

Blacks in America: Bibliographic Essays. Ref Z 1361 .N39 B63 1972
Includes bibliographic essays dealing with books and articles; and covers the period between 1500 to 1970.

Index to Afro-American Reference Resources. Ref Z1361 .N39 S84 1988.
Works indexed represent titles generally considered to be reference books. In addition, this source indexes selected resources that fall outside the traditional reference area.



Caribbean:

Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Ref. Z1361 .N39 N53
Annual acquisitions of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Arranged alphabetically and includes subject headings, author and title entries.

A Bibliography of the Caribbean. Ref. Z 1595 .G68x
Comprehensive coverage of the Caribbean region. Contains 3,600 entries arranged alphabetically.

The Complete Caribbeana, 1900-1975: A Bibliographic Guide to the Scholarly Literature. 4 vols. Ref. Z 1595 .C73 1977
Volumes are divided into nine major thematic sections. These are further divided into 63 topical chapters. Also includes an Author and Geographic index.

Haiti: Guide to the Periodical Literature in English, 1800-1990. Ref. Z 1531 .H35x 1991
More than 5,000 citations of articles written in English. Arranged chronologically.

Research Guide to Central America and the Caribbean. Ref. Z 1595 .R47x 1985

 
Cornell Universtity  Library  
Home