Darfur Crisis: A Selected Bibliography
Books | Online Resources | Government Documents | Video | Web Sites
Library of Congress Headings | Keyword & Pharses
Compiled by Eric Kofi Acree, Director
John Henrik Clarke Africana Library, Cornell University
“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly affects all indirectly. Never again can we afford to live with the narrow, provincial ‘outside agitator’ idea.”
-- Martin Luther King, Jr.1
In the summer of 2007, I attended the annual conference of the American Library Association (ALA) in Washington, D.C. The ALA is the oldest and largest library association in the world, with close to 65,000 members. In part, ALA’s mission is promoting of library and information services, and supporting educational, social, and cultural needs of society.2 At the 2007 annual conference, I went to a session on the Darfur crisis entitled, “Darfur: The Library's Responsibility and Our Community's Need to Know.” This session was sponsored by the Social Responsibilities Round Table committee and was centered on informing librarians of what was happening in Darfur and what librarians had been doing to address this crisis. I learned that a year earlier in New Orleans, the Council of the ALA had adopted a resolution, entitled “Resolution on the Darfur Genocide.” In part, this resolution explained the violence that was taking place in Darfur, and stated that “all relevant ALA units and the profession-at-large [should] highlight and explain the Darfur Genocide through collections, programs, displays, resource guides, and other suitable means.” In addition, ALA called for publishers to vigorously seek and publish materials for both the lay and scholarly levels which would aid in the public understanding of the genocide that was taking place in Darfur.
This bibliography is an attempt to address the resolution put forth by the ALA on the Darfur Crisis and to join the chorus of voices calling for some type of action to end the violence in Darfur. It is not meant to be comprehensive, but rather is a selective collection of books, online resources, films and web sites chosen in the hope they can teach what this “crisis” means, and possibility inspire people to take action.3 It is amazing how many times in my research I read the phrase, “never again,” in reference to past genocides; yet it goes on. The most recent cases of genocide took place in Rwanda and Bosnia. It has been charged that Darfur is the first one of the 21st century.
1King, Martin Luther, “Letter From Birmingham City Jail,” from A Testament Of Hope: The Essential Writings of Martin Luther King, Jr. San Francisco: Harper & Row, Publishers, 1986, p. 290.
2Encyclopedia of Associations: An Associations Unlimited Reference, volume 1, Detroit, Michigan: Thomson Gale, 2008, p.10097.
3Included also are Library of Congress subject headings and keywords and phrases. This is included to help the researcher locate information on the Darfur crisis in other locations. When reviewing this section, the reader has to keep in mind the words of J. Millard Burr and Robert O. Collins in the book Darfur: The Long Road to Disaster, and that is because in part the documents for a research project like Darfur comes in many different languages, and spelling can be a nightmare. In some cases like with the Janjaweed, I have given multiple spellings.
Books:
Darfur--Genocide:
Apsel, Joyce, editor. Darfur: Genocide Before Our Eyes. New York: Institute for the Study of Genocide, 2005.
This book is a compilation of essays which provides background material, and opinion of the crisis in Darfur. This book may be helpful for teachers for it contains topic suggestions, comparative genocide, and human rights facts. In addition, it has references, maps and other source material on the crime of genocide.
Ardenne-vander Hoeven, Agnesvan. Explaining Darfur: Lectures on the Ongoing Genocide, edited by Salih, Mohamed Abdel Rahim M. (Mohamed Abdel Rahim Mohamed) Grono, NickMéndez, Juan E. Amsterdam: Vossiuspers UvA, 2006.
Explaining Darfur gives a historical analysis of the conflict in Darfur. This book consists of five essays by important scholars in the field. The essays are: “Introduction to the Conflict in Darfur/West Sudan,” by Fouad Ibrahim; “The Road to Darfur Leads through Khartoum,” by Agnes van Ardenne-van der Hoeven; “Africa’s Governance Deficit, Genocide, and Ethnocide,” by M.A. Mohamed Salih; “Darfur: The International Community’s Failure to Protect,” by Nick Grono; and “Possibilities for Genocide Prevention,” by Juan E. Méndez. These essays provide valuable background material which allows the reader to gain a better understanding of the conflict. The authors also introduce various nonviolent ways of resolving the crisis. A critique of the international community’s response to the crisis is also given.
Daly, M. W. Darfur's Sorrow: A History of Destruction and Genocide. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Noted scholar and author on the Middle East and Northeast Africa, M.W. Daly writes a stunning account of the historical chain of events that has lead to the current crisis in Darfur. This compelling analysis of the Darfur crisis traces the story from the origins of the Fur state in the seventeenth century to Darfur's annexation. Daly points out how years of neglect, and underdevelopment in the region left it unprepared for independence. He also reports on how the people today are locked in conflict, terrorized by the Arab militia known as Janjaweed. The book also contains a chronology, glossary, and a selected bibliography.
Jeffries, William. The Darfur Crisis. New York: Nova Science Publishers, Inc., 2008.
This book provides background material on the complex nature of the crisis in Darfur. Detail is given to the many different groups which has played a role in this crisis. For example, in this study it is explained that on the one side of this armed conflict there is the Sudanese military and the Janjaweed, a militia group. On the other side are a host of rebel groups, like the Sudan Liberation Movement and the Justice and Equality Movement. The authors in the first chapter try to explain this relationship, as it led to the current humanitarian disaster, which in part has displaced thousands of people. For those who are not familiar with the Sudan, there is also a chapter dedicated to country profile, which provide basic information on the make-up of Sudan.
Lefkow, Leslie. Darfur in Flames: Atrocities in Western Sudan. New York: Human Rights Watch, 2004.
This book provides a historical background to the situation in Darfur. It discusses the Sudanese government’s policy of forced displacement, abuses by government-allied militias and rebels, the cross-border conflict in Chad, and humanitarian implications. It provides recommendations to Sudan, Chad, rebel groups, the United Nations, the World Food Programme, and others.
Prunier, Gerard. Darfur: The Ambiguous Genocide: Revised and Updated Edition. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2005.
The Ambiguous Genocide provides an overview of the conflict in Darfur. Gérard Prunier discusses the origin of this crisis, and those involved. Prunier also writes about the local and regional politics, and the relations between Darfur and the Khartoum government. Included in the book is a glossary of Arabic terms. He also provides a listing of key abbreviations, and a map of the Darfur region.
Reeves, Eric. A Long Day’s Dying: Critical Moments in the Darfur Genocide. Toronto: Key Publishing House Inc., 2007.
Eric Reeves provides background information on how the Darfurians have been slaughter. He contents that this is mostly at the hands of the Janjaweed. He does not pull any punches laying blame of this killing on the government in Khartoum. He also puts to rest the Western notion that it is a fight between Christians vs. Muslims. He reports on the complex relationships among the many tribes, and how Muslims as well as Christians have been killed. In addition, he provides color photos which helps tell the story of this human tragedy. Included in the appendixes are: 1. The text of the 1984 United Nations Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide; 2. The United Nations Inter-Agency Fact Finding and Rapid Assessment Mission: Kailek Town, South Darfur; and 3. The United Nations Security Council Resolutions 1556 (July 30, 2004) and 1706 (August 31, 2006). There is also a selected bibliography which leans heavily on news wire services, and numerous human rights reports from agencies such as the Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International, Physicians for Human Rights, and the International Crisis Group.
Steidle, Brian and Gretchen Steidle Wallace. The Devil Came on Horseback: Bearing Witness to the Genocide in Darfur. New York, NY: Public Affairs, 2007.
Brain Steidle, former United States Marine, and military observer for the African Union (AU), and his sister Gretchen Steidle, reports how the government in Sudan condoned slavery, allowed rape to use used as a weapon of war, chased Blacks out of their homeland, and practiced genocide. In the prologue Steidle writes, “A government [Sudanese], abetted by others incited to hatred, is attempting to ‘cleanse’ an entire people—where Arab Muslims kill African Muslims because the Africans are ‘too black.’” He goes on point out that while this is going on the world stands by and does nothing of importance to stop this genocide.
Totten, Samuel and Eric Markusen. Genocide in Darfur: Investigating the Atrocities in the Sudan. New York, NY: Routledge, 2006.
Darfur. Cambridge, MA: Physicians for Human Rights, 2005.
This book contains photographs of Darfuri refugees living in Chad with brief accounts from survivors of the Furawiya, Terbeba, and Bendisi villages.
Darfur--Personal Narratives:
Ahmed, Abdel Ghaffar M. Understanding the Crisis in Darfur: Listening to Sudanese Voices. Bergen, Norway: BRIC, University of Bergen, 2006.
The major aim of this book is to look into the conflict that is taking place in the Sudan, and to bring attention to the “humanitarian disaster” that as resulted from this crisis. The book is divided into two parts. The first part consists of essays by Sudanese academics in which that bring light on the situation in Darfur. Papers are presented by Abdel Ghaffar, M. Ahmed, Musa Adam Abdel-Jalil, Atta El-Battahani and Mustafa Babiker. The second part offers discussions that took place at a meeting held in Addis Abeba, July 25 and 26, 2005. Those who took part in these discussions were senior Sudanese academics and citizens with links to Darfur.
Cheadle, Don and John Pendergrast. Not on Our Watch: The Mission to End Genocide in Dafur and Beyond. New York, New York: Hyperion, 2007.
Academy award winning actor Don Cheadle and activist John Predergast, senior advisor to the International Crisis Group, and former official in the Bill Clinton White House, provides a narrative on their experiences visiting Darfur, Northern Uganda, and Chad. They were able to get testimonies from Darfurian refugees in which they were told how the Sudanese Army and the Janjaweed militias targeted Darfurians for extermination. In addition, they also reported on mass killings, and mass destruction of villages where signs of life was not present. Among other things the book, offers six strategies readers themselves can implement: Raise Awareness, Raise Funds, Write a Letter, Call for Divestment, Start an Organization, and Lobby the Government. In addition, Senators Barack Obama and Sam Brownback, write for Americans to call for an end of the crisis in Darfur, and offer three reasons why Americans should get involved; 1. It is a moral imperative, 2. It is a responsibility for American citizens to get involved, and 3. Ending the genocide will eventually make America a safer nation.
El-Tom, Abdullahi Osman. Growing Up in Darfur, Sudan. Khatoum: Sudanese Studies Center, 2007.
This book offers a first hand account of what the title implies, “growing up in Darfur.” The author of the book Abdullahi Osman El-Tom, was born in Broosh, Dafur in 1954. El-Tom offers the reader a view of Darfur before the current crisis. He writes about the interaction he had with family, community members and friends. What it was like to go to school, and practice his religion, Islam. However towards the end of the book he paints a far different picture of war and destruction.
Hari, Daoud. The Translator: A Tribesman’s Memoir of Darfur. New York: Random House Publishing, 2008.
This book provides a first hand account of life in Darfur by a native of Darfur, who escaped the attack on his village, and ended up in refugee camps in Chad where he served as a translator for western media outlets like The New York Times, NBC, and the BBC, as well as the United Nations and other aid groups. One of his aims was to inform the world the genocide that was taking place in Darfur. This came at great risk of his personal safety; for at one point the government of Sudan outlawed journalist in the Darfur region, and called for death to those who helped foreign media.
Marlowe, Jen, Aisha Bain, Adam Shapiro, and others. Darfur Diaries: Stories of Survival. New York: Nation Books, 2006.
A team of three western film makers traveled to Darfurian refugee camps in eastern Chad, and across the border into Darfur to capture the first hand accounts of Darfurians who had been displaced.
Sudan--History:
De Waal, Alexander, Famine That Kills: Darfur, Sudan. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
This book is a decisive account of a famine, and a social history of Darfur, from 1984-1985. Alex de Waal looks into the effects of disease, starvation, and offers a challenge to humanitarian efforts including a look into the survival strategies of rural people. De Waal provides a case study of the Mawashei camp, and offers a number of reasons why genocide has impacted this community. In this revised edition De Waal includes a preface that examines Darfur with regard to the government sponsored miilitia Janjaweed.
Holt, P. M. and M.W. Daly, A History of The Sudan: From The Coming of Islam to The Present Day. 5th ed. London; New York: Longman, 2000.
This book offers a comprehensive introductory history of the Sudan. In this updated edition, the author’s provides a general history of Sudan, beginning from the Middles Ages. One of the more appealing aspects of this edition is that it includes coverage of recent events including the civil war and the attempts to establish an Islamist state. This book highlights how the modern Sudan has been shaped by three key elements: the Ottoman Empire; British domination; and, the complex relationship between African and Arab Muslim.
Idris, Amir H., Conflict and Politics of Identity in Sudan. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
This book looks into the politics of racial identity in Sudan. The author argues that neither race, nor culture is at the root of Sudan’s conflicts, but rather the “racialized postcolonial state,” which is dominated by the policy of Arabization and Isamization.
Nazer, Mende and Damien Lewis. Slave: My True Story. New York: Public Affairs, 2003.
This book is the story of a Sudanese woman, Mende Nazer, who as a child was captured into slavery by the Mujahedin (Arab raiders) who invaded her village, killed adults, and captured children. The book is divided into four parts. In the first part Nazer provides a detail account of how life was before the raid, and how the people in her village lived. In the second part Nazer writes about how she and other children were stolen away into slavery. In part three, Nazer tells how she was able to escape from slavery. In the last part, Nazer writes about life as a freed person.
Sudan--War:
Burr, J. Millard and Robert O. Collins. Africa’s Thirty Years War: Libya, Chad and the Sudan (1963-1993). Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1994.
This book looks into the civil war in Chad during the 1960s which pitted the Muslims in the north and center against the African Christian politicians from southern Chad. During this struggle, many Muslim rebels sought safety in Sudan, whose government supported the overthrow of the Tombalbaye government in Chad. Burr and Collins provide many resources which give a sharp picture of the tragedy which took place during this war.
Burr, J. Millard and Robert O. Collins. Darfur the Long Road to Disaster. Princeton, New Jersey: Markus Wiener, 2006.
In this book the authors have updated their original 1999 book titled, Africa’s Thirty Years War: Libya, Chad and the Sudan. This new edition with a new title includes additional chapters which attempt to explain the genocide that has taken place in Darfur.
Deng, Francis Mading. War of Visions: Conflict of Identities in the Sudan. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution, 1995.
This book provides insight into the conflict in Sudan between the Arab-Islamic in the North, and the indigenous African race of the South. In part, the author addresses Sudan's racial, cultural, and religious identity issues, as it relates to Sudan’s civil war since its independence in 1956.
De Waal, Alexander. War in Darfur and the Search for Peace. Cambridge, MA; London: Global Equity Initiative, Harvard University; Justice Africa, 2007.
War in Darfur and the Search for Peace is a collection of essays by foremost Sudanese and international scholars on Darfur. This book is broken into two parts which attempts to provide an overview on the crisis, and offers both historical and contemporary research on Darfur. Part one offers an examination on the causes of the civil war and makes a connection with the political developments in Chad. Part two looks into the international efforts to attain peace in Darfur.
Flint, Julie and Alexander De Waal. Darfur: A Short History of a Long War. London (UK); New York, New York: Zed Books, 2005.
This book provides an explanation of the political and human rights crisis in Darfur. It gives a short history of the region, and traces the origins, organization and ideology of the Janjawiid and other rebel groups. It also discusses the history and ethnic identity of Darfur, and provides an anayses of the Sudanese government and outside agencies like the African Union, and the United Nations.
Flint, Julie and Alexander De Waal. Darfur: A New History of a Long War. London (UK); New York, New York: Zed Books, 2008.
This book is an expanded edition of the book A Short History of a Long War. Within this publication the authors traces the origins, organization and ideology of the infamous Janjawiid and rebel groups. It also analyses the brutal response of the Sudanese government. The authors investigate the resopnses by the African Union and the international community, including the halting peace talks and the attempts at civilian protection. Flint and de Waal provide and authoritative and compelling account of contemporary Africa’s most controversial conflict.
Iyob, Ruth, and Gilbert M. Khadiagala. Sudan: The Elusive Quest for Peace. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., 2006.
This book looks into the political situation in Sudan, and discuses the history of the Afro-Arab Islamic Sultanante, tribal and ethnic identities, exclusionary politics, relations with the central government, key parties in the conflict, conflict resolution and the Abuja peace agreement.
Johnson, Douglas Hamilton, The Root Causes of Sudan’s Civil Wars. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2003.
In this book Douglas Johnson looks into the historical, political, economic and social reasons in trying to give understanding of the causes of Sudan’s civil wars. He reports that since Sudan first gained it independence in the last 1950s, there have been a series of long, recurring, and bloody civil wars.
Khan, Leora. Darfur: Twenty Years of War and Genocide in Sudan. United States: Powerhouse Cultural Entertainment, Incorporated, 2007.
The situation in the Darfur region of Sudan is desperate. The spread of violence, rape and hate-fuelled killings across the border into Chad is the latest atrocity in the horrific series of events. This book is a gripping and stunning call-to-arms in aid of the people of Darfur, and covers three periods in the Sudan crisis.
Darfur--Bibliographies:
Assal, Munzoul A. M. An Annotated Bibliography of Social Research on Darfur. Bergen, Norway: BRIC, University of Bergen, 2005.
Hoile, David. Darfur in Perspective. Padstow, Cornwall, UK: T. J. International. 2005. 29 July 2008 <http://www.espac.org/pdf/Darfur-Book-New-Edition.pdf>
_____. Farce Majeure: The Clinton Administration’s Sudan Policy 1993-2000. London: The European Sudanese Public Affairs Council. 2000. 29 July 2008 <http://www.espac.org/pdf/Farce%20Majeure.pdf>
_____. Images of Sudan: Case Studies in Propaganda and Misrepresentation. London: European-Sudanese Public Affairs Council, 2003. 29 July 2008 <http://www.espac.org/pdf/images_of_sudan.pdf>
International Crisis Group. Darfur: Revitalising the Peace Process. Africa Report; no. 125; Policy Report; Variation: ICG Africa Report; no. 125; Policy Report (International Crisis Group). Nairobi; Brussels: International Crisis Group, 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://www.crisisgroup.org/home/index.cfm?id=4769>
———. A Strategy for Comprehensive Peace in Sudan. Africa Report; no. 130; Policy Report; Variation: ICG Africa Report; no. 130; Policy Report (International Crisis Group). Nairobi; Brussels: International Crisis Group, 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://www.crisisgroup.org/home/index.cfm?id=4961>
———. Darfur's Fragile Peace Agreement. Africa Briefing; no. 39; Policy Briefing; Variation: ICG Africa Briefing Paper; no. 39; Policy Briefing (International Crisis Group). Nairobi; Brussels: International Crisis Group, 2006. 29 July 2008 <http://www.crisisgroup.org/home/index.cfm?id=4179>
———. Getting the UN into Darfur. Africa Briefing; no. 43; Policy Briefing; Variation: ICG Africa Briefing Paper; no. 43; Policy Briefing (International Crisis Group). Nairobi; Brussels: International Crisis Group, 2006. 29 July 2008 <http://www.crisisgroup.org/home/index.cfm?id=4442>
Online Government Documents, United States:
United States. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs. Calling on the League of Arab States to acknowledge the genocide in the Darfur Region of Sudan and to step up their efforts to stop the genocide in Darfur; calling on the government of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam to immediately and unconditionally release Father Nguyen Van Ly, Nguyen Van Dai, Le Thi Cong Nhan, and other political prisoners and prisoners of conscience, and for other purposes; and commemorating the 200th anniversary of the abolition of the transatlantic slave trade : markup before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, on H. Con. Res. 7, H. Res. 243 and H. Res. 272, April 19, 2007. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS84375>
———.Current situation in Darfur: hearing before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, April 19, 2007. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS83947>
———.The escalating crisis in Darfur: are there prospects for peace? : hearing before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, February 8, 2007. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS81464>
United States. Congress. House. Committee on International Relations. The Crisis in Darfur: A New Front in Sudan's Bloody War ; and Condemning the Government of the Republic of the Sudan for its Attacks Against Innocent Civilians in the Impoverished Darfur Region of Western Sudan : Hearing and Markup before the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Eighth Congress, Second Session, on H. Con. Res. 403, May 6, 2004. Washington: U.S. G.P.O. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS53644>
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations. Darfur revisited: the international response: hearing before the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, September 28, 2005. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS81787>
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Human Rights and the Law. Genocide and the rule of law: hearing before the Subcommittee on Human Rights and the Law of the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, February 5, 2007. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2007. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS82841>
United States. Government Accountability Office. Darfur Crisis: Death Estimates; Death Estimates Demonstrate Severity of Crisis, but their accuracy and credibility could be enhanced: report to congressional requesters. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 2006. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS77420>
———. Darfur Crisis: Progress in Aid and; Progress in Aid and Peace Monitoring Threatened by Ongoing violence and operational challenges: report to congressional requesters. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 2006. 29 July 2008 <http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS77449>
United Nations Documents:
http://www.unmis.org/English/documents.htm
Special Journal Issue on Darfur Crisis:
Alvarez, Alex, Herb Hirsch, Eric Markusen, and Samuel Totten, editors. "Special Issue on Darfur." Special issue, Genocide Studies and Prevention 1, no. 1 (2006).
All About Darfur. (2005). Elsanhouri, Taghreed. San Francisco, Calif.: California Newsreel.
Sudanese filmmaker Taghreed returns to her native land and interviews Sudanese about the crisis. This documentary reveals the complex nature of the relationship between Blacks and Arabs. She touches on how fragile and bitter the ethnic conflict is, especially when fighting for little economic resources.
Darfur Diaries Message From Home (2006). Bain, Aisha, Marlowe, Jen, & Shapiro, Adam. Los Angeles, CA: Cinema Libre Studio.
This documentary takes a look into the crisis in the Darfur region. This film provides a voice for the many victims who were forced to flee their land. The film opens with a short historical overview of Darfur, which helps puts, the crisis into perspective. For example, filmmakers content that for centuries the definitions between Arab and African were “fluid,” and intermarriages were common, as was the Arabic language, and Muslim faith. It is also pointed out that part of the conflict is born out of the fight for land and water. In addition it is argued that the Sudanese government not only supported the Janjaweed, but bombed the Darfur civilians.
Darfur Now (2008). United States: Warner Home Video.
This documentary follows six people attempting to end the suffering in Sudan's war-ravaged Darfur.
The Devil Came On Horseback (2007). Stern, Ricki, Sundberg, Annie, Steidle, Brian, New York: Docurama; New Video Group.
This film is based on the experiences of former U.S. Marine Captain Brian Steidle. He provides a first hand look into the crisis in Darfur.
In Search of International Justice. (2006). Jackson, Judy, Judy Films Inc, History Television, & Bullfrog Films. Oley, PA: Bullfrog Films.
This film looks into the evolution of the International Criminal Court (ICC), the world's first, permanent, international judicial body which has the potential of prosecuting individuals accused of genocide, war crimes, and crimes against humanity. The film goes to Kosovo, northern Uganda, Iraq, Rwanda and Darfur.
A Journey To Darfur. Nostalgia Network. (2007). Clooney, N., Herskowitz, L., McCormick, B., Clooney, G., Nostalgia Network, I., AmericanLife TV Network, et al.
This Documentary provides an account of journalist Nick Clooney and others trip to Darfur. During the film, the viewer is given some insight into the violence that many Darfurians had to endure.
On Our Watch. Neil Docherty and Lisa Ellenwood. PBS Video, 2007.
This film documents the mass killing and the displacement of Darfurians since 2003, when Janjaweed militias (nomadic tribesmen) drove over 2.5 million from their homes, countless women raped, and over 200,000 people killed. In the opening of this documentary, the narrator says that there were too many rapes to count. One of the most revealing charges that the filmmakers make is pointing out the lack of action by the international community, especially the United Nations.
Sand and Sorrow: A New Documentary About Darfur (2008). Bradley, Kaplan, Paul Freedman, George Clooney, John Prendergast, Samantha Power, and Nicholas Kristof. New York: HBO Video.
This documentary looks into the historical events that have lead to the killing and displacement of thousands of people from Darfur. The filmmakers argue that as many as 400,000 people in Darfur have lost their lives because of the violence, starvation, and disease. Interviews are given to Nobel Laureate Elie Wiesel, U.S. Senators Barak Obama and Sam Brownback, Sudan scholars Alex de Waaal and Gerard Prunier, and rebel leader Minni Minawi. The film also looks into the international respond to the crisis.
Stopping Genocide: Darfur (Sudan) 2004. Weiss, Elaine and John Weiss. Weavers of the Wind Productions, 2004.
John Weiss narrates this documentary on the mass killings of Sudanese living in Darfur, Sudan in 2004. He highlights the dispute between Arab and non-Arabs. He contents that the Janjawid acted on behalf of the Sudanese government.
Sudan in Crisis. (2006). Koppel, T., ABC News Productions, & Films for the Humanities. Princeton, N.J: Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
In November of 2004, the ABC News show, Nightline, looked into the killings, rapes, and displacement of Darfurians. In part, the broadcast blames the Sudanese government for allowing the crisis to happen, and the Janjaweed for committing the killings and rapes. It is also reported that a good deal of the conflict pits the Muslim nomads vs. Muslim farmers, and more directly disputes between the Zaghawa, Fur, and Masalit tribes. Interviews are given by the Darfurian refugees, and a key interview is given by a top commander with the Janjaweed Sheikh Musa Hilal.
Web Sites:
24 Hours For Darfur:
http://www.24hoursfordarfur.org/
This web site is set up to allow people to record a video about the crisis in Darfur, and to teach others about the genocide taking place. After a video is recorded the makers of the site will then forward the video to selected world leaders. Among the people who have recorded video clips are U.S. politicians Barack Obama and John Edwards, noted scholars Alex de Waal and John Prendergast, and actors Mia Farrow and Don Cheadle. There is also a section where one can view video clips from Darfurians who have been affected by this crisis.
Africa Action: Campaign to Stop Genocide in Darfur: http://www.africaaction.org/campaign_new/darfur.php
This web site is produced by Africa Action. Africa Action calls itself the “oldest” organization working on African affairs. They state that their mission is to advocate for the political, economic and social justice in Africa. Africa Action is actually the merging of three United States based African advocacy groups. The three groups are the American Committee on Africa (ACOA), the Africa Fund, and the Africa Policy Information Center (APIC). The Darfur section of Africa Action calls for the end to the genocide that is taking place in Darfur. It provides up to date information on the action that is taking place worldwide to end the violence. It also provides suggestions on how people can get involved with the campaign to end the violence in Darfur.
Amnesty International:
http://www.amnesty.org/
This is the website for Amnesty International. Amnesty International is noted for its advocating for human rights for all. From this site, one can access various “human rights” information on many countries. When accessing information on Sudan, one is lead to a page which provides the most up to date Amnesty International reports on human rights issues in Sudan.
European-Sudanese Public Affairs Council:
http://www.espac.org/profile/profile.asp
This site provides links to online publications on key Sudanese issues.
Human Rights Watch:
http://hrw.org/
This website promotes itself as being dedicated “to protecting the human rights of people around the world.” Among other things, the user is able to access articles on issues concerning human rights. The result may include articles, reports, and multimedia resources from authoritative and primary sources. The website is also avaible in a number of different languages.
Justice Africa Sudan:
http://www.justiceafricasudan.org/
This website is dedicated to Sudanese issues, namely the crisis in Darfur. There are primary materials written by such scholars as Alex de Waal, and Julie Flint. Included also are links to current articles, reviews of key books, and sites advocating for justice across Africa.
Sudan Research, Analysis, and Advocacy:
http://www.sudanreeves.org/
Smith College English Professor Eric Reeves, provides a site where he as posted articles on Darfur which date back to 2005. He also provides photos of survivals of Darfur, and links to others who have published in such newspapers like the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Boston Globe. One of the more appealing aspects of this site is that he has links to online African based serials like the Sudan Tribune, Africa Confidential, and All Africa. Reeves also provides links to international human rights groups who are doing on-going research, such as Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, International Crisis Group, Physicians for Human Rights, and Refugees International.
Library of Congress Subject Headings:
Genocide—Sudan—Darfur
Genocide—Sudan—Darfur—International Cooperation
Atrocities—Sudan—Darfur
Humanitarian assistance—Sudan—Darfur
Genocide—Darfur (Sudan)
Atrocities—Darfur (Sudan)
Crimes Against Humanity—Darfur (Sudan)
Darfur (Sudan)—Politics and government
Sudan—History
Sudan—History—Civil War
Sudan—History—Darfur Conflict, 2003-
Darfur (Sudan)—Ethnic Relations
Darfur (Sudan)—History 20th Century
Darfur (Sudan)—Politics and Government
Civil War—Sudan—Darfur
Ethnic Conflict—Sudan—Darfur
Darfur, Darfurian, Janjaweed (Janjawid, Janjawed, Jingaweit, Jinjaweed, Janjawiid, Janjiwid, Janjaweit), genocide, Khartoum, civil war, humanitarian, Islam, Christianity, African, Arabs, Islamist Arab, Fur tribe, Massalit tribe, Meidoub tribe, Zeghawa (Zaghawa) tribe, Misseriya tribe, Rizeigat tribe, Mujahedin
Glossary of Acronyms:
ACOA American Committee on Africa
AIC American Islamic Congress
AMIS African Union Mission in Sudan
ASAP Afrobeat Sudan Aid Project
AU African Union
CAR Central African Republic
DAC Darfur Action Committee
DLF Darfur Liberation Front
DUP Democratic Unionist Party
GNU Government of National Unity
JEM Justice and Equality Movement
JMC Joint Military Commission
NCP National Congress Party
NDA National Democratic Alliance
NIF National Islamic Front
NMRD National Movement for Reform and Development
NRF National Redemption Front
NSRCC (RCC) National Salvation Revolutionary Command Council
OAU Organization of African Unity
PCP Popular Congress Party
PDF Popular Defense Force
SAF Sudan Armed Forces
SLA Sudan Liberation Army
SLM Sudan Liberation Movement
SPLA Sudan People’s Liberation Army
SPLM/A Sudan People’s Liberation Movement/Army
SSU Sudanese Socialist Union
STAND Students Taking Action Now: Darfur
STOP Slavery That Oppresses People
SUNA Sudan News Agency
TMC Transitional Military Council



