General History, Africa
Middle East and North Africa. London,
Europa Publications. Ref. DS 49 M62
Comprehensive view of countries comprising the Middle East and North
Africa. Includes coverage of international organizations, research bodies,
and major agricultural and mineral commodities.
Atlas of African Affairs. Griffiths,
Ieuan Ll. London; New York: Routledge; Johannesburg, South Africa: Witwatersrand
University Press, 1994. Ref. DT1 .G85 1994
The Atlas of African Affairs is divided into five sections dealing with
environmental, historical, political and economic issues and with Southern
Africa. Throughout, the book presents an interdisciplinary, integrated
perspective on African affairs. Most of the chapters deal with continent-wide
themes and are illustrated by maps of Africa as a whole drawn to a standardised
outline of the same map projection and scale. Other chapters, often
by way of example, discuss parts of the continent or individual countries
and are illustrated with appropriate maps. The basic format of integrated
text and maps is supplemented by guides to further reading at the end
of each section as well as a series of detailed statistical tables at
the end of the book.
Encyclopedia of African History and
Culture. Page, Willie F. New York: Facts on File, 2001. Ref. DT
3 P27x 2001
In this three-volume reference on African history and culture, Page
(emeritus, Africana Studies, Brooklyn College) divides Africa's history
into three major eras. Volume I, Ancient Africa, deals with Africa up
to approximately 450-500 CD (roughly, in terms of classical European
history, to the fall of the Roman Empire). Volume II, African Kingdoms,
covers medieval Africa from the sixth century to the beginning of the
16th century CD, revealing the effects of Islam and the Arab invasions,
as well as the flowering of some of Africa's greatest indigenous kingdoms.
Volume III, From Conquest to Colonization, continues the story up until
the beginnings of European exploration and colonization. Contains many
b&w illustrations, timelines, maps, cross-references, and suggestions
for further reading. Entries are arranged alphabetically.
A Pan-African Encyclopedia. Gbotokuma,
Zekeh S., ed. Lewiston, N.Y. : Edwin Mellen Press, 2003. Ref. DT 14
.P28x 2003
Covering the A's, from "Afrankeri" to "Afrotarsius,"
this volume contains entries on the culture, history, and political
and social institutions of African peoples. ("African" here
is construed broadly to mean black people of African descent, living
around the world.) The volume discusses the experiences of Africans
before, during, and after colonialism. Most of the entries are written
by scholars and have appeared previously in journals, books, or other
reference works.
Historical Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa. Collins, Robert O. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001. DT 17 .C65x 2001
This dictionary seeks to familiarise the reader with the Africa that began with the migration of the Bantu from their homeland in 500 B.C. This dictionary provides information about Africa before European colonial rule. It features details of African culture, history, rulers, migrations, wars, and contact between Africans and Arab, Asian, and European travelers. An introductory essay offers background information on Africa's past, and a chronology outlines the principle events of African history. An appendix traces the rise and fall of various African dynasties.
Directory of African and African-American
Studies in the United States. Atlanta, GA: African Studies Association
Press Ref. DT 19.9 U5 D59
Lists undergraduate and graduate programs in African or African American
Studies at colleges and universities across the U.S.
The African Studies Companion: A Resource
Guide and Directory. Zell, Hans M. London; New Providence, N.J.:
H. Zell Publishers, 1997. Ref. DT 19.8 Z51 1997
Lists important reference works, journals, library collections, publishers,
etc.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African
History. Zeleza, Paul Tiyambe, ed. London ; New York: Routledge,
2003. Ref. DT 29 .E53x 2003
With nearly 250 individually signed entries, the 'Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century
African History' explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and
their polities, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures
and arts were transformed during the course of that century.
The African Political Dictionary.
Phillips, Claude S. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio Information Services,
1984. Ref. DT 30.5 .P55
This dictionary focuses on African political science terms. Entries
are arranged alphabetically within subject-matter chapters, i.e. Political
Culture and Ideology, and "include an up-to-date definition plus
a paragraph of significance in which the authors discuss and analyze
each term's historical and current relevance." (Series Statement)
Includes a guide to countries, which functions as a country/subject
index, and a general subject index.
Africa South of the Sahara. London:
Europa Publications Ltd. Ref. DT 351 A25
Comprehensive view of countries comprising Sub-Saharan Africa. Includes
coverage of international organizations, research bodies, and major
agricultural and mineral commodities.
Geography of Sub-Saharan Africa. Aryeetey-Attoh,
Samuel, ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 2003. Ref. DT 351.9
.G46x 2003
Accessible to students with little or no previous geographic training,
this text presents a variety of physical and human geographic concepts
in clear language using significant detail.
This book is a study of the multi-faceted aspects of the physical and
human geography of Sub-Saharan Africa.



