Library Icon   John Henrik Clarke Africana Library Mud Cloth
Library Gateway | Library Catalog | Find: Articles Databases e-Journals | Ask a Librarian

Inside the Library

Collection

Databases

Subject Guides

Internet Resources

John Henrik Clarke

Contact

 

Harlem Renaissance Bibliography

(http://www.library.cornell.edu/africana/guides/harlemrenaissance.html)

Complied by Eric Kofi Acree, Africana Librarian

Books | Encyclopedias | Web Sites


Books:

African-American Concert Dance: The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond, Perpener, John O, Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2001

Authentic Blackness: The Folk in the New Negro Renaissance, Favor, J. Martin., Durham : Duke University Press, 1999.

A Beautiful Pageant: African American Performance Theater, and Drama in the Harlem Renaissance, 1910-1927, David Krasner, Palgrave Macmillan, 2002

Carl Van Vechten and the Harlem Renaissance: A Critical Assessment, Coleman, Leon, New York : Garland Pub., 1998.

Classic Fiction of the Harlem Renaissance, William L. Andrews, editor, New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.

Deep River: Music and Memory in Harlem Renaissance Thought, Anderson, Paul Allen, Durham, NC : Duke University Press, 2001

Double-Take: A Revisionist Harlem Renaissance Anthology, edited by Venetria K. Patton and Maureen Honey, New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, 2001.

Gay Rebel of the Harlem Renaissance: Selections from the Work of Richard Bruce Nugent, Richard Bruce Nugent, Duke University Press, 2002

Grown Deep: Essays on the Harlem Renaissance, Long, Richard. Four-G Publishers, Incorporated, 2001

Harlem Group of Negro Writers, Melvin B. Tolson ; edited by Edward J. Mullen, Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001.

The Harlem Renaissance, Wintz, Cary, Brandywine Press, Incorporated, 2001

A Hubert Harrison Reader, Harrison, Hubert H., Middletown, Conn. : Wesleyan University Press, 2001.

Jean Toomer and the Harlem Renaissance, edited by Geneviève Fabre, Michel Feith., New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, 2001.

Modernism and the Harlem Renaissance, Houston A. Baker, Jr., Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1987.

Renaissance in Harlem: Lost Essays of the WPA by Ralph Ellison, Dorothy West, and Other Voices of a Generation, Lionel C Bascom (Editor), Amistad Press, 2000.

This Waiting for Love: Helene Johnson, Poet of the Harlem Renaissance, Verner D. Mitchell, ed., Amherst : University of Massachusetts Press, 2000.

To Make a New Race: Gurdjieff, Toomer, and the Harlem Renaissance, Woodson, Jon., Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 1999.


Encyclopedias:

The African American Encyclopedia, Michael Williams. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1993: 714-718.

African American Writers. Valerie Smith, editor. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.

Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts From Criticism of The Most Significant Works of Black Authors Over The Past 200 Years. James P. Draper, editor. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992.

The Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, volume 3. Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West, editors. New York: Macmillan Library Reference; Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1996: 1199-1217.

Encyclopedia of The Harlem Renaissance, Aberjhani and Sandra L. West, New York: Facts On File, Inc., 2003.

The Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Citical Companion. Janet Witalec, editor. Detroit: Gale, 2003.


Web Sites:

Harlem Renaissance -A Brief Introduction - http://www.csustan.edu/english/reuben/pal/chap9/9intro.html

Harlem Renaissance Reading List: Encyclopedia Smithsonian - http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/nmah/harlem.htm

 

 

 
Cornell Universtity  Library  
Home