Library Icon   John Henrik Clarke Africana Library Mud Cloth
Library Gateway | Library Catalog | Find: Articles Databases e-Journals | Ask a Librarian

Inside the Library

Collection

Databases

Subject Guides

Internet Resources

John Henrik Clarke

Contact

 


Selected Resources on Malcolm X

(http://www.library.cornell.edu/africana/guides/malcolmx.html)


Books:

Asante, Molefi K. Malcolm X As Cultural Hero: And Other Afrocentric Essays. Trenton, N.J.: Africa World Press, 1993.

Baldwin, James. One Day, When I Was Lost: A Scenario Based On Alex Haley's "The Autobiography Of Malcolm X." New York: Dell, 1992.

Breitman, George. The Last Year Of Malcolm X: The Evolution Of A Revolutionary. New York: Schocken Books. 1968.

Breitman, George and George Edward Novack. Black Nationalism and Socialism. New York: Merit Publishers, 1968.

Breitman, George and Herman Porter. The Assassination of Malcolm X. New York: Pathfinder Press, 1988

Carson, Clayborne, ed. Malcolm X: The FBI File. New York: Carroll & Graf Publishers, 1991.

Clarke, John Henrik, ed. Malcolm X; the Man and His Times. New York: Macmillan, 1969.

Cleage, Albert B. and George Breitman. Myths About Malcolm X: Two Views. New York: Merit Publishers, 1968.

Cone, James H. Martin & Malcolm & America: A Dream or A Nightmare. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis Books, 1991.

Collins, Rodney P. The Seventh Child. New York: Dafina; London: Turnaround, 2002.

Decaro, Louis A. On The Side of My People: A Religious Life of Malcolm X. New York: New York University, 1996.

Dyson, Michael Eric. Making Malcolm: The Myth and Meaning of Malcolm X. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

Franklin, Robert Michael. Liberating Visions: Human Fulfillment And Social Justice In African-American Thought. Minneapolis, MN : Fortress Press, 1990.

Goldman, Peter. The Death and Life of Malcolm X. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1979.

Jamal, Hakim A. From The Dead Level: Malcolm X and Me. New York: Random House, 1972.

Jenkins, Robert L. The Malcolm X Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.

Karim, Benjamin with Peter Skutches and David Gallen. Remembering Malcolm. New York: Carroll & Graf, 1992.

Kly, Yussuf Naim, Ed. The Black Book: The True Political Philosophy of Malcolm X (El Hajj Malik El Shabazz). Atlanta: Clarity Press, 1986.

Leader, Edward Roland. Understanding Malcolm X: The Controversial Changes in His Political Philosophy. New York: Vantage Press, 1993.

Lee, Spike with Ralph Wiley. By Any Means Necessary: The Trials and Tribulations of The Making Of Malcolm X. New York, N.Y.: Hyperion, 1992.

Maglangbayan, Shawna. Garvey, Lumumba, and Malcolm: National-Separatists. Chicago, Third World Press 1972.

Marable, Manning. On Malcolm X: His Message & Meaning. Westfield, N.J.: Open Media, 1992.

Randall, Dudley and Margaret G. Burroughs, Ed. For Malcolm; Poems on The Life and The Death of Malcolm X. Preface and Eulogy By Ossie Davis. Detroit: Broadside Press, 1967.

Sales, William W. From Civil Rights To Black Liberation: Malcolm X And The Organization Of Afro-American Unity. Boston, MA: South End Press, 1994.

Shabazz, Ilyasah. Growing Up X. New York: One World, 2002.

Strickland, William. Malcolm X: Make It Plain: New York: Viking, 1994.

T'Shaka, Oba. The Political Legacy of Malcolm X. Richmond, Calif.: Pan Afrikan Publications, 1983.

Wood, Joe, Ed. Malcolm X: In Our Own Image. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992.

X, Malcolm. The Autobiography Of Malcolm X. New York: Grove Press 1966.

_____. Malcolm X: The Last Speeches. New York: Pathfinder, 1989.


Bibliographies:

Davis, Lenwood G. Malcolm X, A Selected Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.

Johnson, Timothy V. Malcolm X: A Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1986.


Video Tapes:

The Autobiography of Malcolm X. Princeton, N.J.: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2001. 1 videocassette (53 min.)
Focuses on the impact the book The Autobiography of Malcolm X had on race relations in America. Also scrutinizes the life of Malcolm X himself. Features dramatizations and interviews with Malcolm X's family and friends, as well as scholars and authors.

Brother Minister: the Assassination of El-Hajj Malik Shabazz (Malcolm X). Greenvale, NY: 3rd Millennium Entertainment Group, 1995. 1 videocassette (115 min.)
This story is told through the eyes and voices of Malcolm's friends, his former enemies, assassination experts, dramatic re-enactments, rare archival footage and photographs, and the disclosure of recently declassified FBI and NYPD counter intelligence documents. Contains only 11 minutes of narration.

El Hajj Malik el Shabazz. Xenon Home Video, 1991. 1 videocassette (60 min.)
A "Like It Is" Television program special presentation produced, written and reported by Gil Noble.

The Life and Death of Malcolm X. Plymouth, MN: Simitar, 1992. 1 videocassette (89 min.)
Shows dozens of Malcolm X speeches, interviews, and a special TV show.

Malcolm X: Make It Plain (Part I). Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 1994. 1 video cassette (57 min.)
In Lansing, Michigan, he is Malcolm Little, son of an outspoken minister who preaches black pride. At one time president of his seventh grade class, Malcolm later becomes "Detroit Red," a hustler, streetwise and fast--but not fast enough to stay out of prison. From prison he emerges as Malcolm X, the fiery, eloquent spokesman for Elijah Muhammad's Nation of Islam. He brings the Nation into the spotlight on a controversial Mike Wallace televison show, and astounds the Harlem community by leading the Harlem mosque in a confrontation with the New York police.

Malcolm X: Make It Plain (Part II). Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 1994. 1 video cassette (45 min.)
After a confronation between police and members of the Nation of Islam at the Los Angeles Mosque, Malcolm forges a coalition of community and civil rights organizations around the issue of police brutality. He proposes a different vision for the Movement, speaking nationally about community control of black neighborhoods. Ultimaterly, Malcolm breaks from the Nation of Islam and strengthens his ties with national civil rights groups and liberation groups worldwide.

Malcolm X: Make It Plain (Part III). Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 1994. 1 video cassette (40 min.)
Following a pilgrimage to Mecca, Malcolm takes the name El Hajj Malik El Shabazz and elevates the struggle for civil rights to a human rights issue. He is invited to attend the Organization of African Unity Conference in Egypt, and travels to 14 African nations, becoming internationally recognized leader and advocate for oppressed peoples. He expresses a deeper understanding of Islam and a willingness to accept white allies in his struggle against racism by the time he is assassinated in Harlem in 1965.

The Speeches of Malcolm X. Orland Park, IL: MPI Home Video, 1997.1 video cassette (40 min.)
Presents a collection of Malcolm X's speeches, showing the development of his ideas and attitudes.


Microfilm:

Hagan, Thomas. Transcripts Of The Malcolm X Assassination Trial Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1993.

Malcolm X: FBI Surveillance File Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 1978.

 
Cornell Universtity  Library  
Home