Philosophy, Mythology, Religions
A Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses.
Hart, George. London; Boston: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1986. Ref.
BL 2450 .G6 H32 1986
This book details the major gods and goddesses and presents a broad
survey of others, giving a vivid picture of the complexity and richness
of the imagery of Egyptian mythology.
Rastafari and Reggae: A Dictionary
and Sourcebook. Mulvaney, Rebekah Michele. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood
Press, 1990. Ref. BL 25 .R37 M84x
A combination dictionary and annotated discography, videography and
bibliography, this sourcebook brings together listings of materials
on the Rastafarian movement and reggae music.
Directory of African American Religious
Bodies: A Comependium by the Howard University School of Divinity.
Payne, Wardell J., ed. Washington, DC: Howard University Press, 1995.
Ref. BR 563 .N4 D57x 1995
Some 1,000 entries provide information on contacts, key personnel, membership,
and publications of churches belonging to African American denominations.
Also listed are religious councils and ecumenical organizations, African
American religious education institutions, and African Americans with
scholarly interest in religion and religious studies. Includes historical
overviews of African American religious traditions, and numerous indexes.
Encyclopedia of African American Religions.
Murphy, Larry G., J. Gordon Melton, Gary L. Ward, eds. New York:
Garland Pub., 1993. Ref. BR 563 .N4 E56
This encyclopedia covers African American religious leaders, groups,
and the major issues raised by the devlopment of African American religious
life.
An Encyclopedia of African American
Christian Heritage. McMickle, Marvin Andrew. Valley Forge, PA:
Judson Press, 2002. BR563.N4 M353 2002
This book will interest those seeking inspirational stories of African
Americans who embraced a life of service, not always within the Christian
Church. Chapters include denominational founders and leaders, preachers,
teachers, politicians, nationalists, singers, and movements.
The
Original African Heritage Study Bible. Nashville: J.C Winston,
1993.
Ref. BS 185 1993 .N37x 1993
The purpose of this book is to interpret the Bible as it relates specifically
to persons of African descent and thereby to foster an appreciation
of the multiculturalism in the Bible.
Holy Bible: African American Jubilee
Edition New York: American Bible Society, 1999.
Ref. BS 185 1999 .N48x 1999c
The Jubilee Bible, with its supplementary material, presents
a way for African Americans to see how they are inextricably connected
to the ancient world of the Bible.
Winston's Original African Heritage
Study Bible Encyclopedia Concordance. compiled by James W. Peebles.
Nashville, Tenn.: J. C. Winston, 1996. BS 440 .W56x 1996
This is the companion to the Original African Heritage Study Bible.
This book has been compiled as a tool for the continuous and systematic
study of the African presence in the formation of the Judeo-Christian
religions.
African-American Holiness Pentecostal
Movement: An Annotated Bibliography. DuPree,
Sherry Sherrod. New York: Garland, 1996. Ref. BX 8762.5 .D87x 1996
The research reported in this book is restricted to information by and
about African-American Pentecostalism in America from the period from
the 1880s to the present.



