Library Icon   John Henrik Clarke Africana Library Mud Cloth
Library Gateway | Library Catalog | Find: Articles Databases e-Journals | Ask a Librarian

Inside the Library

Collection

Databases

Subject Guides

Internet Resources

John Henrik Clarke

Contact

 

 

Reparations, African Americans Bibliography

(http://www.library.cornell.edu/africana/guides/reparations.html)

Compiled by Eric Kofi Acree, Librarian

Books | Journal Articles | Magazine and Newspaper Articles | Encyclopedia Sources


Books:

Ajayi, J.F. Ade. and Margaret O. Vogt, eds. Proceedings of the First Pan-African Conference on Reparations: Organized by the Organization of African Unity, Group of Eminent Persons on Reparations and the Government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria at Abuja, April 27-29, 1993: Nigeria: RADOC, 1993.

America, Richard F. 1993. Paying the Social Debt: What White America Owes Black America: Westport, Conn: Praeger, 1993.

_____, ed. The Wealth of the Races: The Present Value of Benefits From Past Injustices: New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.

Asante, Molefi Kete. Erasing Racism: The Survival of the American Nation: Amherst, NY: Prometheus, 2003.

Asare, William Kweku. Slavery Reparations in Perspective: Victoria, B.C.: Trafford, 2002.

Banks, William L. The Case Against Black Reparations: Haverford, PA: Infinity Pub., 2001.

Bittker, Boris I. The Case for Black Reparations: Boston, MA: Beacon Press, 2003.

Black People and the U.S. Economy: Our Case for Reparations. Oakland: African People's Socialist Party, 1982.

Brophy, Alfred L. Reconstructing the Dreamland: The Tulsa Riot of 1921: Race, Reparations, and Reconciliation: New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

Corlett, J. Angelo. Race, Racism, & Reparations: Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2003.

Feagin, Joe R. Racist America: Roots, Current Realities, and Future Reparations: New York: Routledge, 2000.

Hakim, Ida, et al. Reparations, the Cure for America's Race Problem: A Collaborative Effort in Reparations Advocacy by the Founding Members of C.U.R.E. Hampton, VA: U.B. & U.S. Communication Systems, 1994.

Horowitz, David. Uncivil Wars: The Controversy Over Reparations for Slavery. San Francisco : Encounter Books, 2002.

Lecky, Robert S and H. Elliott Wright, eds. Black Manifesto; Religion, Racism, and Reparations: New York, Sheed and Ward,1969.

Lumumba, Chokwe. Reparations Yes!: The Legal and Political Reasons Why New Afrikans, Black People in the United States, Should Be Paid Now for the Enslavement of Our Ancestors and for War Against Us After Slavery: Articles by Chokwe Lumumba, Imari Abubakari Obadele & Nkechi Taifa: Baton Rouge, LA: House of Songhay, Commission for Positive Education, 1993.

Mazuri, Ali. Black Reparations in the Era of Globalization: Binghamton, NY: Institute of Global Culture Publications, Binghamton University, 2002.

Munford, Clarence J. Race and Reparations: A Black Perspective for the TwentyFirst Century: Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, 1996.

Nickson, Victor and Adjoa Aiyetoro, Laini Mataka. Black Reparations: American Slavery & Its Vestiges: Washington, DC: National Coalition of Blacks for Reparations in America, 2002.

Reparations Now!:. Oakland, Calif.: African People's Socialist Party, 1983.

Robinson, Randall. 2000. The Debt: What America Owes to Blacks: New York: Dutton, 2000.

Schuchter, Arnold. Reparations: The Black Manifesto and its Challenge to White America: Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1970.

Serota, Arthur. Ending Apartheid in America: The Need for a Black Political Party and Reparations Now: Evanston, Ill: Troubadour Press, 1996.

Thompson, Janna. Taking Responsibility for the Past: Reparation and Historical Injustice: Cambridge, UK: Polity, 2002.

Winbush, Raymond A., ed. Should America Pay?: Slavery and the Raging Debate Over Reparations: New York: Amistad, 2003.


Journal Articles:

Allen, Ernest and Robert Chrisman. "Ten Reasons to Response to David Horowitz." The Black Scholar, volume 31, number 2 (Summer 2001): 49-55.

Allen, Robert L. "Past Due: The African American Quest for Reparations." The Black Scholar, volume 28, number 2 (Summer 1998): 2-17.

America, Richard F. "Racial Inequality, Economic Dysfunction, and Reparations." Challenge, volume 38, number 6 (November 1995): 40-45.

_____. "Reparations and Higher Education." Black Issues in Higher Education, volume 16, issue 23 (Jan. 6, 2000): 104.

_____. "Reparation and Public Policy." Review of Black Political Economy, volume 26, number 3 (Winter 1999): 77-83.

_____. "Reparations and the Competitive Advantage of Inner Cities." Review of Black Political Economy, volume 24, no.2/3 (Winter 1996): 193-206.

Bacon, Jacqueline. "Reading the Reparations Debate." Quarterly Journal of Speech 89 (2003): 171-95.

_____. "Reparations and the Media: A Slanted Arena for Discussions of Slavery Recompense." Extra! May/June 2002: 21-22.

Bolner, James. "Toward a Theory of Racial Reparations." Phylon, volume 29, no. 1 (1968): 41-47.

Bowman, Karlyn. "Opinion Pulse." The American Enterprise, volume 12, number 5 (July/August 2001): 60-62.

Berry, Mary F. "Reparations for Freedmen, 1980-1916: Fraudulent Practices or Justice Deferred?" The Journal of Negro History, volume 57, no. 3 (July 1972): 219-230.

Brophy, Alfred L. "Losing the [Understanding of the Importance of] Race, Evaluating the Significance of Race and the Utility of Reparations." Texas Law Review, volume 80, number 4 (March 2002): 911-932.

"David Horowitz's 'Ten Reasons Why Reparations for Slavery is a Bad Idea for Blacks - and Racist Too.'" The Black Scholar, volume 31, number 2 (Summer 2002): 48.

Davis, Adrenne D. "The Case for Reparations to African Americans." Human Rights Brief: Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, A Legal Resource for the International Human Rights Community, volume 7, issue 8 (Spring 2000): 3+.

Hopkins, Kevin. "Forgive U.S. Our Debts? Righting the Wrongs of Slavery." Georgetown Law Journal, volume 89, number 8 (August 2001): 2531-2556.

Loury, Glenn C. "Little to Gain, Much to Lose." Black Issues in Higher Education, volume 18, number 19 (November 8, 2001): 136.

McWhorter, John. "Blood Money." The American Enterprise, volume 12, number 5 (July/August 2001): 18-22.

Michelson, Melissa R. "The Black Reparation Movement: Public Opinion and Congressional Policy Making." The Journal of Black Studies, volume 32, number 5 (May 2002): 574-587.

Monteiro, Anthony. "Review Essay: Race, Class and Civilization: On Clarence J. Munford's Race and Reparations." The Black Scholar, volume 29, number 1 (Spring 1999): 46-59.

Mosley, Albert. "Affirmative Action As a Form of Reparation." The University of Memphis Law Review, volume 33, number 2 (Winter 2003): 353-365.

Murdock, Deroy. "A Bean of Counting Nightmare to Avoid." The American Enterprise, volume 12, number 5 (July/August 2001): 22-23.

_____. "Should the U.S. Pay Reparations for Slavery?" Vital Speeches of the Day, volume 68, number 13 (April 15, 2002): 404-406.

Ogletree, Charles. "Reparations for the Children of Slaves: Litigating the Issues." The University of Memphis Law Review, volume 33, number 2 (Winter 2003): 245-264.

Okediji, Moyo. "On Reparations Exodus and Embodiment." African Arts, volume 31, number 2 (Spring 1998): 8-10.

Osabu-Kle, Daniel Tetteh. "The African Reparation Cry: Rationale, Estimate, Prospects, and Strategies." Journal of Black Studies, volume 30, number 3 (January 2000): 331-350.

"Reparations Movement: Should Payments Be Made for Historical Wrongs?" CQ Researcher, volume 11, number 24 (June 22, 2001): 529-552.

Roach, Ronald. "Fighting the Good Fight." Black Issues in Higher Education, volume 18, number 19 (November 8, 2001): 28-31.

_____. "Moving Towards Reparations." Black Issues in Higher Education, volume 18, number 19 (November 8, 2001): 20-24.

Robinson, Randall. "America's Debt to Blacks." Nation, volume 270, number 10 (March 13, 2000): 5-6.

Simon, Julian, and Larry Neal. "A Calculation of the Black Reparations Bill." The Review of Black Political Economy, volume 4, number 2 (Winter 1974): 75-86.


Magazine and Newspaper Articles:

Perlmutter, Emanuel. "'Reparations' Are Asked-Lindsay is 'Shocked.'" New York Times, May 5, 1969: 1.

Cardwell, Diane. "Seeking Out a Just Way to Make Amends for Slavery: The Idea of Reparations for Blacks is Gaining in Urgency, But a Knot of Questions Remain, Like: Which Blacks?" New York Times, August 12, 2000: B7.

"Dumally Challenges Blacks to Seek Reparations Bill Like Japanese Americans." Jet, volume 74, number 21 (August 22, 1988): 9.

Funderburg, Lise. "Do African-Americans Deserve Reparations?" Essence, volume 28, number 6 (October 1997): 64+.

Krauthammer, Charles. "Reparations for Black Americans." Time, volume 136, number 28 (December 31, 1990): 18.

Lewin, Lamar. "Calls for Slavery Restitution Getting Louder." New York Times, June 4, 2001: A15.

Ogletree, Charles J. "Litigating the Legacy of Slavery" New York Times, March 31, 2002: Section 4, page 9.

_____. "The Case for Reparations." USA Today Weekend, August 16-18, 2002: 6-7.

Shabazz, Malik. "Reparations for African-Americans and Africa." Crisis, volume 101, number 1 (January 1994): 20+.

White, Jack E. "Sorry isn't good enough: a simple apology for slavery leaves unpaid debts." Time, volume 149, number 26 (June 30, 1997): 35.


Encyclopedia Sources:

Boilard Steve D. "Reparations." The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, volume 3: Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpee, INC. (1998): 742-743.

Darity, William A. Jr. "Reparations." The Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, volume 4: New York: Simon & Schuster MacMillan (1996): 2315-2318.

Tang, S.H. "Reparations." Civil Rights in the United States, volume 2: New York: MacMillan Reference USA (2000): 649-650.

Williams, Michael W., ed. "Reparations." The African American Encyclopedia, volume 5: New York: Marshall Cavendish (1993): 1364.

 
Cornell Universtity  Library  
Home