Willard Straight
Takeover Primary Resources at
Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell Library
Compiled by Petrina Jackson, Archivist
Administration
| Alumni &
Students | Committees, Organizations, &
Programs | Council Member and Trustee | Faculty
| Miscellaneous | Multimedia | Presidents
Steven Muller interview, 1994. (Multimedia)
President Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University; Vice President for Public
Affairs, Cornell University, 1966-1971.
Transcript and audiocassette of an interview with Muller conducted by
Keith R. Johnson concerning activities at Cornell University, particularly
events surrounding the occupation of Willard Straight Hall, Spring 1969.
Includes discussion of the role of then President James A. Perkins.
Use prohibited during the lifetime of James A. Perkins. May be used
only with permission of Steven Muller.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 47-8-2898
Cornell student papers on activism, 1969-1970.
7 items.
Papers on student activism at Cornell University in 1969, written by
students in Gordon J. Cummings' rural sociology classes: William R.
Doyle; John F. Deasy, Jr.; Michael E. Lynch; Arthur Serotoff; Priscilla
A. Bibbens; Paul Romero; and Tunnie Martin, Jr.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 21-33-1796
Feinstein, Howard M.
April 1969: a celebration of the mass, 1969.
1 item.
Paper discussing the black students' takeover of Willard Straight Hall
at Cornell in 1969, written while Feinstein was a graduate student in
history.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 37-5-2274
Goldsmith, L. Michael. Cornell Class of 1972
L. Michael Goldsmith papers, 1969
.3 cubic ft.
Correspondence, collected subject files, newspaper clippings, posters
and ephemera collected by a Cornell student in 1969 pertaining to the
Willard Straight Takeover. Includes correspondence from James Perkins,
Cornell University President at the time.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 37-5-3049
Jones, Thomas W. Cornell Class of 1969
Thomas W. Jones papers, 1980-1984.
3 items.
Photocopy of letter from Tom Jones to James Perkins, July 18, 1980;
letter from Neal Stamp to Gould Colman relating to Jones' letter, May
4, 1984; and Colman's response, May 11, 1984. Also, a speech consisting
of reflections on the 1969 Willard Straight takeover.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 37-10-2178
Kramer, Lawrence F. Cornell Class of 1970
Lawrence F. Kramer papers, 1966-1980.
5.4 cubic ft.
Collection consists of documents, correspondence and publications generated
by leftist political groups active in the Ithaca, New York area from
1966 to 1972. Also, material concerning political events and disturbances,
such as the takeover of Willard Straight Hall, Cornell University, April
1969; the Cornell draft resistance, and the involvement of Bruce Dancis
and Daniel Berrigan (1966-1968); the Cornell TROJAN HORSE incident,
January 1967; and anti-Vietnam War protests. Also, documentation of
the activities and internal evolution of organizations including The
Office and the Glad Day Press (1966-1971); the national and campus branch
of Students for a Democratic Society (1967-1969); the Cornell Draft
Resistance (1967-1968); National Caucus of Labor Committees, and its
publications, SOLIDARITY, NEW SOLIDARITY, CRISIS, and CAMPAIGNER; the
Socialist Labor Committee (1971-1972), including its national publications,
CRISIS, QUANTUM, and PERSPECTIVES; the Socialist Labor Committee in
Ithaca, New York, and its publications, THE ELEVENTH HOUR and ILR VOICE;
the Socialist Workers' Party; the Worker-Student Alliance and their
publication, NEW LEFT NOTES; the Young Socialist Alliance; the New Left;
the Ithaca Labor Committee; the Independent Socialists; the Independent
Radical Coalition; the Cornell Mobilization Direct Action Project; National
Mobilization to End the War in Vietnam; New American Movement; Progressive
Labor Party; The Resistance, Ithaca, New York; and the Ithaca Neighborhood
Center.
Also, materials on the Revolutionary Youth Movement and Revolutionary Youth Movement II, and their publications FIRE and LIBERATED GUARDIAN; and Students for a Constructive Foreign Policy, Cornell University. Printed material includes magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, brochures and leaflets, and internal documents such as position papers, proposals and drafts of documents. Other material includes published and unpublished commentaries and articles, as well as political journals, meeting notes, correspondence and notes of Lawrence Kramer; government files obtained through requests under the Freedom of Information Act; clippings and editorial material concerning left groups and events; lists of signers of public petitions; university disciplinary citations; buttons and other memorabilia. Some material has been annotated by Kramer and Peter Agree (Cornell University Class of 1969).
There is also information on early left-wing activities of Lyndon LaRouche, then using the alias Lyn Marcus.
Material in Box 6: access is restricted to permission of the donor until January 1, 2014.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 37-7-2151
Records regarding the Willard Straight Hall Takeover,
1969.
.1 cubic ft.
Records of the takeover of Willard Straight Hall, Cornell University,
by black students, April 19-20, 1969; includes a memorandum regarding
damage done, and photographs
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 35-7-1295
Sindler, Allan P. Cornell Class of ?
Allan P. Sindler papers, 1969.
.3 cubic ft.
Student paper, with extensive suggestions for revision by a Cornell
faculty member, on the incidents of 1969 at Cornell University. Also
"A Case Study of a University's Pattern of Error," presented
at the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association,
Sept. 1969.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 37-5-2654
Strongwater, Andrea. Cornell Class of 1970.
Andrea Strongwater recollections, 1996.
Recollection of student life of a Cornell University undergraduate,
with particular reference to campus episodes of student unrest on campus,
especially the occupation of Willard Straight Hall.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 37/5/2885
Williams, Dennis. Cornell Class of 1973.
Cornell magazine. Vol. 97 (1994)
Article by Dennis Williams on the 25th Anniversary of the Willard Straight
Hall Takeover.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives LH1.C81 E6 +
Committees, Organizations, and Programs
Africana Studies and Research Center fire items,
1970.
1 folder.
Contains newspaper clippings and articles about the fire and general
comments on student unrest.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 47-5-1327
Constituent Assembly records, 1969-1970.
7.8 cubic ft.
The Constituent Assembly became the Cornell University Senate
Subject files, correspondence, budget material, newsletters, committee
working papers, and other records of the Constituent Assembly.
Related collection: #54/6/2930.
Box and folder list available.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 54-1-1323
Cornell University Afro-American Studies Program
records, 1968-1969.
.4 cubic ft.
Advisory Board minutes, correspondence, printed material, and memoranda
of an African-American program at Cornell University directed by Chandler
Morse.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 53-21-2745
Cornell University. Faculty Advisory Committee on
the Presidency records, 1969.
3.6 cubic ft
Includes questionnaires relating to student and faculty opinion concerning
selection of a new president of Cornell University; minutes, reports
to the Trustee Committee, and memos of the Faculty Advisory Committee.
1969 accession: restricted to permission of the Dean of Faculty.
1970 accession: restricted to permission of the Director of the office
of origin.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 11-4-1273
Cornell University Special Trustee Committee on
Campus Unrest records, 1969-1971. (Multimedia)
2 cubic ft., 30 tape recordings.
The Special Trustee Committee on Campus Unrest (also known as the Robertson
Committee) was formed in order to investigate the issues and forces
surrounding the armed takeover by black students of Cornell's Willard
Straight Hall, April 1969. Douglas Williams Associates, Inc. was employed
by the commitee to study these issues and events through interviews
of Cornell students, faculty, and administrators, and local government
officials.
Includes tapes and transcripts of interviews, printouts, financial records, and other materials relating to the Special Trustee Committee on Campus Unrest (Robertson Committee).
Access resricted to permission of office of origin from
October 27, 1986 through October 26, 2031.
Access restricted to permission of the Archivist after October 26, 2031.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 2-6-1444
President's Committee on Student Involvement in
Decision Making records, 1968-1969. (Multimedia)
.3 cubic ft., 33 tape recordings.
Finding aid
The President's Commission on Student Involvement in Decision Making
was created by Cornell University President James A. Perkins in order
to study student political activity at Cornell and its relationship
to the educational and institutional operation of the University. Commission
members included Jon Anderson, Mark Barlow, Sarah Diamont, Stephen Hadley,
F. A. Long, Ian Macneil, Richard Marchase, Robert S. Miller, David Moore,
Robert S. Morison, Raymond Thorpe, William Tomlinson, and Michael Wright.
Collection includes membership lists, invoices, budgets,
tape recordings, memoranda, bibliographies, printed material, correspondence,
drafts, and reports concerning the President's Commission, also known
as the Morison Commission. Records primarily relate to student activism
and involvement in university governance.
5" letter box: access restricted to permission of office of origin.
Tape recordings: access restricted in part.
Tape recordings: use restricted in part.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 3-10-1284
Austin H. Kiplinger papers, 1965-1984
2.3 cubic ft
Cornell University Trustee files and Cornell Council files of Austin
H. Kiplinger. Also, letters to Kiplinger and newspaper and magazine
articles concerning the takeover of Willard Straight Hall by black students
at Cornell University in 1969, and the black studies program at Cornell,
1970.
Restricted.
Correspondence and notes within committee files or files of South African
divestment and the Performing Arts Center are closed for fifteen years
from the date of creation.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 2-5-2045
Miller, Robert D. Cornell Professor of Agronomy
(Multimedia)
Robert D. Miller Oral histories, 1969-1970, 1989.
4 tape recordings; 292 pp. transcript
Oral history interviews by Gould P. Colman with Robert D. Miller, with
4 pp. index, 134 index cards, 4 tapes, and 1989 appendix
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 13-6-1285
Pasley, Robert. Cornell Professor of Law.
Robert Stephen Pasley papers, 1951-1976.
3.1 cubic ft.
Pasley's files as a member of the board hearing the case of the proposed
dismissal of Cornell University Professor John D. Hartman, including
transcript of the hearings, exhibits introduced at the hearings, papers
supplied to the board by Hartman, and papers initiating and closing
the case; also, material relating to the Uniform Code of Military Justice;
University Committee records relating to the takeover of Willard Straight
Hall by black students; material relating to the Institution for the
Unity of Science; and transcript of a panel discussion, "Student
Unrest - Will Next Year Be the Same?" in REPORTS OF VIRGINIA STATE
BAR ASSOCIATION, Vol. CXXX (1969). Also, material concerning computers
and the law.
Hartman case files restricted to permission of the president of the
University.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 18-2-1669
Ricciuti, Henry N. Cornell Professor of Human Development
and Family Studies
Henry N. Ricciuti papers, 1966-1980.
1.3 cubic ft.
Files relating to the reorganization of the College of Human Ecology,
particularly the Reorganization Committee, chaired by Dr. Ricciuti;
files relating to his membership on the Faculty Committee on Student
Affairs, 1966-1969, with much material on events leading up to the Straight
takeover in April 1969; and materials relating to Cornell's involvement
with day care, starting with the Cornell Day Care Committee, 1971-1972;
the Cornell-Tompkins County Day Care Project, 1972-1974; the Infant
Care and Resource Center, operated in Sage Infirmary, 1975-1980, under
a grant from the Appalachian Regional Commission; and the unsuccessful
efforts to continue to offer work-site infant day care on campus.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 23-13-2551
Silbey, Joel H. Cornell Professor of History.
Joel H. Silbey papers, 1969-1970.
.5 cubic ft.
Correspondence, memoranda, clippings, leaflets, and other items concerning
events at Cornell University in 1969-1970 including the occupation of
Willard Straight Hall and other student protests.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 14-17-1821
Slatoff, Walter. Cornell Professor of English. Walter
J. Slatoff chaired the Faculty-Student Committee on Human Rights at
Cornell University
Walter Slatoff papers, 1968-1975.
7 cubic ft.
Includes typescript of a lecture on blacks at Cornell and in American
society, given shortly after the assassination of Martin Luther King;
handwritten notes for a talk on the same subject a year later; typed
notes for a talk on racism, April 24, 1969; and a column entitled "Cornell
Racism" written by Slatoff for the CORNELL DAILY SUN, April 17,
1969.
Also, subject files, correspondence, lesson plans, syllabi, and other
professional papers.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 14-12-2832
Van Riper, Paul. Cornell Professor of Public Administration
(Business)
The Afro-American Society and Cornell, April 19-21, 1969: one professor's
view, 1969.
Eight page manuscript by Cornell Professor Van Riper, April 21, 1969,
expressing his views on the takeover of Willard Straight Hall by black
students and Cornell University.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 26-2-m.1014
Challenge to Governance Project records, 1969-1970.
5.1 cubic ft.
Correspondence, transcripts of interviews, minutes, statements, broadsides,
photographs, clippings, and other materials pertaining to civil rights
activism and the work of various groups at Cornell to alter the institution's
governing structure. This collection includes incoming correspondence
and clippings from alumni to President Perkins and Vice President Steven
Muller; notes, clippings, and statements from various Cornell departments
and interest groups; files of the Mass Media Committee, the Barton Hall
Commission, the Constituent Assembly, the June (1969) issue of the CORNELL
ALUMNI NEWS, and the WHCU News Department; a geographically arranged
file of newspaper clippings from the United States, France, and England;
circulars and broadsides; copies of papers by students and faculty members
regarding their impressions of campus events; a file of all news releases
issued by the university pertaining to the events on campus; and letters,
reports, and photographs relating to the occupation of Willard Straight
Hall. Subjects include the Vietnam War and the peace movement; the rights
of women and minorities, especially blacks' rights and the militant
takeover of Willard Straight; efforts to change the governing system
at Cornell; and related issues.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 47-5-1309
Cornell Alumni News editor's records, 1951-1982.
7 cubic ft.
Files of John Marcham, editor of the CORNELL ALUMNI NEWS, contain correspondence,
background material for articles, clippings, notes, photographs, letters
to the editor, and other materials pertaining to Cornell University,
campus figures, college pranks, student unrest and the Willard Straight
takeover, and many other topics relating to the university. Included
are files relating to the reprinting of Strunk and White's Elements
of Style, and correspondence and an outline of a biography of Howard
Stephenson.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 41-1-1207
Black Determination: Cornell 1969 movie film.
1 videocassette (VHS) (15 min.) ; 1/2 in.
A film by Ralph Diamant, narrated by Tom Jones, A News Reel Film.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 4444
Cornell University campus photographs, 1969-1972.
1 cubic ft.
Photographic prints and slides taken on the Cornell University campus,
include the Willard Straight Hall takeover by black students protesting
discrimination and the Carpenter Hall takeover by Vietnam War protestors.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 4-3-2093
Cornell University Special Trustee Committee on
Campus Unrest records, 1969-1971. (Committees, Organizations, and Programs)
2 cubic ft., 30 tape recordings.
The Special Trustee Committee on Campus Unrest (also known as the Robertson
Committee) was formed in order to investigate the issues and forces
surrounding the armed takeover by black students of Cornell's Willard
Straight Hall, April 1969. Douglas Williams Associates, Inc. was employed
by the commitee to study these issues and events through interviews
of Cornell students, faculty, and administrators, and local government
officials.
Includes tapes and transcripts of interviews, printouts, financial records, and other materials relating to the Special Trustee Committee on Campus Unrest (Robertson Committee).
Access resricted to permission of office of origin from
October 27, 1986 through October 26, 2031.
Access restricted to permission of the Archivist after October 26, 2031.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 2-6-1444
Cornell University student protest videocassettes,
1969.
2 videocassettes.
"April 19, 1969." Videocassettes of the occupation of Willard
Straight Hall, the mass assembly and addresses in Barton Hall, and members
of the University Faculty leaving Bailey Hall.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives
37-11-2759
Cornell 1969: Key issues then and now, 3 May 1999.
(Faculty)
2 items.
Video tape and transcript of the Cornell Faculty Forum discussing Cornell
'69: Liberalism and the Crisis of the University, by Donald Downs, on
the takeover of Willard Straight Hall and the events of 1969 at Cornell
University.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 11-1-3030
Corson, Dale R. Cornell President 1969-1977. (Presidents)
Dale R. Corson oral histories, 1981-1994.
29 tape recordings, 1 transcript (94 p.), 7 volumes of transcript (1133
p.)
Reflections on his career and tenure at Cornell University include assessments
of the contributions of individuals and organizations to education,
industry, and public life. Subjects include athletics, administration,
the budget, black students, faculty, trustees, students, and the Presidents'
Papers Project. Major individuals mentioned include James A. Perkins,
Robert Kane, Robert Plane, W. Keith Kennedy, Solomon C. Hollister, Robert
Purcell, and Arthur H. Dean. Interviews by Gould P. Colman.
Box 2 transcripts partially restricted. See Preface, volume 1.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 13-6-2556
Miller, Robert D. Cornell Professor of Agronomy
(Faculty)
Robert D. Miller Oral histories, 1969-1970, 1989.
4 tape recordings; 292 pp. transcript
Oral history interviews by Gould P. Colman with Robert D. Miller, with
4 pp. index, 134 index cards, 4 tapes, and 1989 appendix
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 13-6-1285
Muller, Steven. President Emeritus, Johns Hopkins
University; Vice President for Public Affairs, Cornell University, 1966-1971.
Steven Muller interview, 1994. (Multimedia)
Transcript and audiocassette of an interview with Muller conducted by
Keith R. Johnson concerning activities at Cornell University, particularly
events surrounding the occupation of Willard Straight Hall, Spring 1969.
Includes discussion of the role of then President James A. Perkins.
Use prohibited during the lifetime of James A. Perkins. May be used
only with permission of Steven Muller.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 47-8-2898
President's Committee on Student Involvement in
Decision Making records, 1968-1969. (Committees, Organizations, and
Programs)
.3 cubic ft., 33 tape recordings.
Finding aid
The President's Commission on Student Involvement in Decision Making
was created by Cornell University President James A. Perkins in order
to study student political activity at Cornell and its relationship
to the educational and institutional operation of the University. Commission
members included Jon Anderson, Mark Barlow, Sarah Diamont, Stephen Hadley,
F. A. Long, Ian Macneil, Richard Marchase, Robert S. Miller, David Moore,
Robert S. Morison, Raymond Thorpe, William Tomlinson, and Michael Wright.
Collection includes membership lists, invoices, budgets,
tape recordings, memoranda, bibliographies, printed material, correspondence,
drafts, and reports concerning the President's Commission, also known
as the Morison Commission. Records primarily relate to student activism
and involvement in university governance.
5" letter box: access restricted to permission of office of origin.
Tape recordings: access restricted in part.
Tape recordings: use restricted in part.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 3-10-1284
Corson, Dale R. Cornell President 1969-1977.
Dale R. Corson oral histories, 1981-1994.
29 tape recordings, 1 transcript (94 p.), 7 volumes of transcript (1133
p.)
Reflections on his career and tenure at Cornell University include assessments
of the contributions of individuals and organizations to education,
industry, and public life. Subjects include athletics, administration,
the budget, black students, faculty, trustees, students, and the Presidents'
Papers Project. Major individuals mentioned include James A. Perkins,
Robert Kane, Robert Plane, W. Keith Kennedy, Solomon C. Hollister, Robert
Purcell, and Arthur H. Dean. Interviews by Gould P. Colman.
Box 2 transcripts partially restricted. See Preface, volume 1.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 13-6-2556
Corson, Dale R. Cornell President 1969-1977.
Dale R. Corson papers, 1963-1977
134.9 cubic ft.
The Dale R. Corson papers consist of office files, correspondence, and
other material deriving chiefly from his provostship (1963-1969) and
presidency of Cornell University (1963-1977). The papers illustrate
the Corson administration reconstituting the University following the
trauma of the 1969 student revolt and the negative publicity following
the takeover of Willard Straight Hall; dealing with anti-war demonstrations
and protests relative to other social and local issues; and surviving
the university fiscal crisis of the early and mid 1970s. Subjects include
long range financial planning, the endowment fund, relations with trustees,
and the improved functioning of the university administration; also,
relations with trustee special committes and the many formal and ad
hoc university committees, social responsibility and investment policy,
the cultivation of alumni support, relations with the University Faculty,
relations with the New York State College of Agriculture, the New York
State College of Human Ecology, the College of Arts and Sciences, the
Cornell University Medical College, the School of Nursing, the Center
for International Studies, the Center for Environmental Quality Management,
the Center for Radiophysics and Space Research, the Arecibo Ionospheric
Observatory, the Human Affairs Program, and the Society for the Humanities;
the collection also documents the separation of Cornell and the Cornell
Aeronautical Laboratory, and the growth of the Division of Biological
Sciences.
Other subjects include the controversy surrounding Cornell United Religious Work and the role of Daniel Berrigan, the investigation of the Safety Division, the involvement of university employees in decision making and grievance procedures, the problems of parking and space needs, the issue of minority hiring on university construction projects, the building of the Campus Store, North Campus Dormitories, and several other facilities, the development of the Dept. of Physical Education and Athletics and intercollegiate athletics generally, and the investigation of Cornell by the National Collegiate Athletic Association. The papers show the growth of the Personnel Dept. and the reorganization of the central administration, and the relations between Cornell and the Ivy League and other colleges, and with several educational and philanthropic foundations, including the American Council on Education, the Association of Colleges and Universities of the State of New York, the American Association of University Professors, the Ford Foundation, and the Carnegie Corporation. Similar files are concerned with university research and government funded research, and with relations with state and federal governments and corporations such as IBM and Xerox. Topics also include academic freedom and the rights and responsibilities of the University Faculty, representative governance, the University Senate, the Faculty Council of Representatives, and the Office of the Judicial Administrator.
Includes tape recordings of interviews conducted by Gould P. Colman, University Archivist.
Includes employment contracts, and correspondence with
Frank R. Clifford.
Other subjects include the development of the Affirmative Action Program,
the Africana Studies and Research Center, Ujamaa Residential College,
and the associated difficulties arising from HEW guidelines pertaining
to the college, and the needs of non-black minorities and international
students. Other topics include the emergence of women's issues and programs,
including the Women's Caucus, the Women's Study Program, and the Committee
on the Status of Women; student dissent, protest, and demonstration,
and the administration's several means of dealing with them. There is
ample documentation of the takeover of Carpenter Hall in 1972, and the
vandalism on campus and in Collegetown; the administration's response
to the use of drugs and the changing deportment of students, to the
new attitudes concerning commencement, and to the demands and interests
of several student groups, including Students for a Democratic Society
(SDS). Another issue is the involvement of students in matters of educational
relevance, and the appearance of controversial speakers on campus. Major
correspondents include Morton Adams, J. Robert Barlow, Mark Barlow,
Max Black, Derek C. Bok, Ernest L. Boyer, Stuart M. Brown, Patricia
J. Carry, Lisle C. Carter, Van Alan Clark, W. Donald Cooke, Edmund T.
Cranch, H. Justin Davidson, Arthur H. Dean, Mary H. Donlon (Alger),
Thomas Gold, Henry Guerlac, William D. Gurowitz, Jackson O. Hall, David
B. Hayter, Delridge Hunter, Herbert F. Johnson, Alfred E. Kahn, and
Robert J. Kane.
Other correspondents include William R. Keast, John
G. Kemeny, W. Keith Kennedy, David C. Knapp, Samuel A. Lawrence, Paul
J. Leurgans, Harry Levin, Sol M. Linowitz, Franklin A. Long, Thomas
W. Mackesey, Deane W. Malott, Paul L. McKeegan, Robert D. Miller, Robert
S. Morison, Steven Muller, Floyd R. Newman, Benjamin Nichols, Jansen
Noyes, Nicholas H. Noyes, Ewald B. Nyquist, Robert D. O'Brien, John
M. Olin, Spencer T. Olin, Charles E. Palm, Kermit C. Parsons, Norman
Penney, James A. Perkins, Arthur H. Peterson, Robert A. Plane, Robert
W. Purcell, Richard M. Ramin, Gustav J. Requardt, Robert F. Risley,
Nelson A. Rockefeller, Thomas R. Rogers, Byron W. Saunders, Andrew S.
Schultz, Robert A. Scott, Alain Seznec, Robert L. Sproull, Neal R. Stamp,
Thomas L. Tobin, James E. Turner, Henry G. Vaughan, J. Carlton Ward,
John H. Whitlock, Philip Will, Diedrich K. Willers, L. Pearce Williams,
and Theodore P. Wright
Restricted to permission of the President's Office until 2007.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 3-11-1665
James A. Perkins interviews, 1994.
3 tape recordings; transcript (214 p.)
Tape recordings and transcripts of an interview conducted by Keith Johnson
with James A. Perkins, President of Cornell University 1963-1969.
Restricted to the permission of James A. Perkins. (restriction needs
to be addressed since he is deceased)
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 47-8-2795
James A. Perkins papers, 1941-1990.
8.5 cubic ft.
Papers relating to James Perkins' career before coming to Cornell; speeches
and articles; files relating to his inauguration as Cornell's president;
files relating to activities at Cornell, including the events of 1969;
subject files relating to other activities; a few photographs and personal
letters; and certificates and honorary degrees.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 3-10-3158
James Alfred Perkins interview, 1977.
1 tape recording.
Tape recorded interview with former Cornell University President James
A. Perkins, November 10, 1977, conducted by David A. Kaplan and Stuart
Berman.
Restricted to permission of James A. Perkins.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 3-10-1943
James Perkins papers, 1963-1969.
44 cubic ft.
Finding aid
The James A. Perkins papers consist of the administrative papers of
his presidency from 1963-1969; subjects include the issues of academic
freedom and freedom of speech, the educational needs and sociological
problems of black students in the university, and the establishment
and maintenance of programs to facilitate black students' success; there
is also extensive correspondence concerning trustee and alumni affairs,
particularly regarding fund raising and university endowments; other
topics include the funding of the Andrew Dickson White Professors-at-Large
and other professorships and chairs, the construction and funding of
new campus buildings, planning for and celebration of the Cornell Centennial
of 1965, the College of Arts and Sciences Humanities Council, university
research and government funded research, university relations with Ithaca
New York and Tompkins County; also, Cornell Latin American Year, Cornell
United Religious Work, Cornell Clubs; relations with the State University
of New York (SUNY), the development of the Division of Biological Sciences,
the Society for the Humanties, and the Cornell University Library rare
book collections; also, relations between the Administration and the
University Faculty, the Residential Club fire of 1967 and the six year
Ph.D. Program; the funding and development of the Herbert F. Johnson
Museum of Art, and the separation of Cornell University and the Cornell
Aeronautical Laboratory of Buffalo.
Topics also include anti-war protest relating to ROTC, the suppression of the distribution of "The Trojan Horse" and the resulting conflict between students and the administration; housing for students both on and off campus, the difficulties and emergency situations arising from student conduct, dissent, protest, and demonstrations, and the question of university governance particularly in the Spring of 1969. Organizations and corporations discussed include the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the Carnegie Corporation, the Ford Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, the American Council on Education, the National Science Foundation, the Association of Colleges and Universities of the State of New York, the National Collegiate Athletic Association, the Cornell Aeronautical Laboratory, the Cornell University Medical College and New York Hospital, Students for a Democratic Society (SDS), the United States Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, and United States Selective Service. Correspondents include Morton Adams, Eric Ashby, Max Black, James E. Allen, Kingman Brewster, McGeorge Bundy, Van Alan Clark, Dale R. Corson, Arthur H. Dean, Mary H. Donlon, Jean-Jacques Demorest, Mario Einaudi, Orville L. Freeman, Henry Guerlac, John W. Gardner, Jacob K. Javits, Herbert F. Johnson, George McT. Kahin, Alfred E. Kahn, Burnham Kelly, W. Keith Kennedy, Milton R. Konvitz, Sol M. Linowitz, Franklin A. Long, Deane W. Malott, Arthur M. Mizener, Chandler Morse, Steven Muller, Floyd R. Newman, and Jansen Noyes.
Other correspondents include John M. Olin, Spencer T.
Olin, Charles E. Palm, Robert W. Purcell, Edgar M. Queeny, Laurance
S. Rockefeller, Clinton Rossiter, Allan P. Sindler, Robert L. Sproull,
James E. Turner, Maxwell M. Upson, and Harold D. Uris.
Also, reports of the President's Commission to Study the New York State
College of Agriculture, the Commission of April 1968, the Commission
of Undergraduate Education, and the Committee of Student Involvement
in Decision Making.
Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts
Archives 3-10-1022



