Staff Profile: Jose Delgado

11/01/18

Who he is: Jose Delgado, human resources assistant for Cornell University Library.

What he does: I provide human resources assistance to different departments within the Library, including staff and students.

Why it’s important: I see people on their way into the job and serve as a resource for people when they need guidance. I also help students get set up with the Library when they start their jobs, which involve pay, time slips, navigating Workday, etc.

Where he’s from: Northern Brooklyn, New York, in the Bushwick/Greenpoint area.

Education: I went to the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS). I have a degree in biological sciences with a concentration in animal physiology.

Background: I wanted to be a doctor for the first half of my undergraduate career, and, while I was at Cornell, I completed a clinical internship at an outpatient clinic, and I decided it wasn’t for me. So, I looked at what else to do, and, in the meantime, I began working off campus at a startup created by Hotelies. I was offered a supervisor position, and then the assistant director of area left town and recommended me for her job. I took over supervision of 125 individuals and started managing payroll, time cards, and other work-related things.

When I came back to school, I was looking for something else to do, and, in my senior year, I took classes in the ILR School and the Hotel School while still studying biology. When I graduated, I worked at the startup again for a bit before moving to a manager position at an operations center, which was a pretty independent job and brought me into an HR position here at Cornell’s Athletics and Physical Education. Later, that office became part of the larger administrative human resources.

How long at Cornell: I’ve been working at Cornell for 15 years but in various positions.

Best part of his job: Right now, the best part is learning how the Library works and about all its interconnected parts, and sharing with coworkers the information I have previously learned. I try to provide a different perspective.

What he’s most proud of: I’m proud of the wonderful young men that my twin boys are becoming and of my connection to Cornell. I also teach karate PE classes, and it’s really fun to see people develop gradually. My course is set up so it can be a four-year course, eventually reaching black belt level. In my six years of teaching, I’ve given out five black belts, and three of those were to students who started from scratch learning from me—the other two had been studying for a bit before learning from me.

In his spare time: I try to go running as much as I can, and I also enjoy sand volleyball, as well as spending time with my sons.

Dream job: I’m actually still learning and trying to find what I want to be when I grow up. I have a lot of interests, and I’ve been taking things to and from different jobs, so we’ll see. I’m still trying to find it.