Music Library

Housed in newly renovated quarters in Lincoln Hall, the broad collection in the Sidney Cox Library of Music and Dance includes books, periodicals and printed music. The collection encompasses music of all periods, as well as jazz, popular and vernacular music from around the world. More than 60,000 sound and video recordings are available at the Library, including extensive runs of Folkways and Smithsonian Folkways recordings. Western art music is the collection's principal focus, including holdings on early music performance practice, microfilms, scholarly editions, rare source materials in the Rare Book Room and scholarly facsimiles in the Music Special Collections. The Library also has substantial world-music collections, and its strengths are Indonesian music, Middle Eastern music, African field recordings and Brazilian popular and folk music.

Holdings
145,390 print volumes
8,578 microforms

Hours

Library Hours for Academic Semester

Music
Spring 2015
January 21, 2015 - May 19, 2015

Default Hours

    Sunday: 2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
    Monday: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Exceptions

February 14-16 (February 14, 2015 - February 16, 2015)

    Saturday, February 14: Closed All Day
    Sunday, February 15: Closed All Day
    Monday, February 16: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

March 28-April 5 (March 28, 2015 - April 5, 2015)

    Saturday, March 28: Closed All Day
    Sunday, March 29: Closed All Day
    Monday, March 30: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday, March 31: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday, April 1: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday, April 2: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday, April 3: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday, April 4: Closed All Day
    Sunday, April 5: 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

May 19 (May 19, 2015 - May 19, 2015)

    Tuesday, May 19: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Website

Contact

Reference

(607) 255-4011

Circulation

(607) 255-4011

Address

Lincoln Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853

See full map

View map of Cornell libraries

Full hours for all libraries (PDF)

2014-15

 Spring | SummerFall